Undergraduate Honors and Awards

To qualify for departmental honors, students must have a GPA of at least 3.7 in classes for the major and have submitted a senior thesis of distinction. The faculty of the Department of Art History and Archaeology submits recommendations to the Committee on Honors, Awards, and Prizes for confirmation. No more than ten percent of graduating majors in the department receive departmental honors each year.

2016-17 Honors and Awards

Departmental Honors were awarded to:

Canada Austin Choate, CC `17, “‘It's Only Music, John’: Dan Graham's Rock Criticism, 1968-88” (Sponsor: Branden Joseph)

Benjamin Philip Davidoff, CC `17, “The Ancient Synagogue at Sardis: Religious Pluralism in the Late Roman Empire” (Sponsor: Ioannis Mylonopoulos)

Megan Anne Kincaid, CC `17, “Motherwell’s Modernism: The Universal Language of Automatic Drawings” (Sponsor: John Rajchman)

The Senior Thesis Prize was awarded to Benjamin Philip Davidoff.

The Meyer Schapiro Book Prize for Excellence in Art History was awarded to:

Geon Woo Lee, CC `17, “Tradition Redux: Architecture of Kim Swoo Geun” (Sponsor: Jonathan Reynolds)

Isabella Michelle Sterman Rosner, CC `17, “’The Neatest Worker of the Party’: Text, Stitching, and Sisterhood in Charlotte Brontë and Jane Austen’s Needlework” (Sponsor: Anne Higonnet)

Amanda Brooks-Kelly Weiss, CC `17, “Italian Baroque Outsiders: Guercino and his Old Testament Subjects” (Sponsor: Michael Cole)

Samantha R. Williger, CC `17, “Performing Anarchy: Christopher D’Arcangelo’s Rosa Esman Gallery Invitational Action—‘Look Out for what you Look At’” (Sponsor: John Miller)

Past Senior Thesis Prize Recipients

Eleanor Crimmins Goerss, CC `16, “Fragmented Temple & Maiden Intact: The Art of Sanctuary and Sermon Book in the Seventeenth-Century Amsterdam Begijnhof” (Sponsor: Diane Bodart)

Martha Scott Burton, CC `15, “To Suffer a Sea-Change: The Afro-Future Female and the Aquatic in Ellen Gallagher's Watery Ecstatic” (Sponsor: Kellie Jones)

Shirlynn Sham, CC `14, “A Shocking Split: Intrusions of the Phatasmagoric into the Embodied Perceptual Model” (Sponsor: Jonathan Crary)

Isabel J. Losada Sabando, CC `13, “Pilgrimage and the New Jerusalem: A Reconstruction of the Enameled Plaques of St. Martin's Cathedral in Ourense, Spain” (Sponsor: Holger Klein)

Laura Waelbroeck, CC `12, “Furnishing Gentility: Jacques Seligmann and the Marketing of Decorative Arts, 1880-1923” (Sponsor: Anne Higonnet)

Elisabeth Stephan, GS `12, “A Spectre upon the Threshold: The X-ray's Aesthetic Aperture into Modernity” (Sponsor: Anne Higonnet)

James DeWille, CC `10, “The Body in Jesús Soto: Movement, Participation, and Performance in Soto's Art, from Early Vibrations to the Penetrables” (Sponsor: Alexander Alberro)