> Columbia Main
Home > Announcements
Cope Scholar Award to Professor Jack Norton

Congratulations to chemistry Professor Jack Norton on receiving a 2013 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from the Organic Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society.  Established in 1984, the Cope Scholar Award is one of the most prestigious honors in the field of organic chemistry.  There are just ten recipients of the the award each year.

The Cope Scholar award includes a $5K cash award,  a certificate, and $40K in unrestricted research funds to be assigned by the awardee to any university or non-profit institution.  The recipient also receives up to $2.5K for travel to the annual Arthur C. Cope Symposium in spring 2013.

Columbia chemistry Professors James Leighton, Colin Nuckolls, and Scott Snyder are previous winners of the Arthur C. Cope Scholar award (Leighton in 2003, Nuckolls in 2008, and Snyder in 2012).   Professor Nicholas Turro was a 2011 winner of the Arthur Cope Award (which is different from the Cope Scholar Award -- see announcement.

You can learn about the work of Professor Norton's research group on their group website.