ThumbnailIn 2012, the chemistry department was honored with five named lectureships:


The Ramabrahmam and Balamani Guthikonda Award Lecture, given by Stefan Hell of the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, who presented “Nanoscopy with Focused Light


The Aldrich lecture, given by Robert Waymouth of Stanford University, who presented “Catalysis: The Enabling Science for Polymer Synthesis


The Bristol Meyers Squibb Lecture, given by Paul Scola of Bristol-Myers Squibb, who presented “Discovery of BMS-650032; a Novel and Efficacious Protease Inhibitor for the Treatment of Hepatitis C,” and Scott Miller of Yale University who presented “Natural Products, Synthetic Catalysts, Unnatural Products


The Gilbert Stork Lecture, given by Eric N. Jacobsen of Harvard University, who presented “Attractivec,Non-Covalent Interactions in Asymmetric Catalysis


The Padwa Lecture, given by Michelle Chang of the University of California at Berkeley, who presented “Building New Chemical Function in Living Organisms



The Novartis Lecture, which was originally scheduled for December was cancelled because of illness by the speakers.


Named lectures, which are given by scientists who are leaders in their research fields, are supported by contributions from generous external funding sources.  They complement the many seminars, lectures, colloquia, and other talks at which researchers have the opportunity to see and hear about the most current work underway in the chemistry community.


Alumni of the department are always welcome at our talks.  You can keep up to date with our seminar calendar on the chemistry department website.