E3B go home



 

  Research Seminar   Schedule
  

  Student Seminar   Schedule
  



EEEB G6300: Graduate Research Seminar

Spring 2014

      *ALL seminars are held in the Schermerhorn Ext. building, room 1015*

Date/Time Speaker, Affiliation, Topic
 
January 21, Tuesday

No Seminar, first day of classes

4:10 - 5:00 p.m.  
 
January 28, Tuesday

Sergio Andres Espinoza Flores
Governor, Department of Vichada-Colombia
Sustainable development and environmental conservation in post conflict areas in Colombia

4:10 - 5:00 p.m.  
 

February 4, Tuesday

Jen Biddle

4:10 - 5:00 p.m.

 

 
February 11, Tuesday

John Vandermeer

4:10 - 5:00 p.m.

 

 
February 18, Tuesday

Christopher Golden PhD, MPH
Wildlife Conservation Society/Harvard School of Public Health

Optimizing conservation and public health in view of current
environmental mega-trends

4:10 - 5:00 p.m.

 

 
February 25, Tuesday

Susan Alberts
Department of Biology, Duke University
Life history and behavior in a primate hybrid zone

4:10 - 5:00 p.m.

 

 
March 4, Tuesday

Simon Levin
George M. Moffett Professor of Biology, Princeton University
Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

4:10 - 5:00 p.m.

 

 
March 11, Tuesday

Matt Fagan, Ph.D.
NASA Postdoctoral Fellow, Goddard Space Flight Center
The changing matrix: reforestation and connectivity in a tropical habitat corridor

4:10 - 5:00 p.m.

 

 
March 18, Tuesday

Spring Recess
No seminar

 

 
March 25, Tuesday

Lauren O'Connell
Bauer Fellow, Harvard University
The soft side of a killer: Genomic insights into parental care and chemical ecology of poison frog.....Please note special time and location: Noon-1pm, Room 800 Fairchild (Biology Dept.)

PLEASE NOTE: Noon-1p.m.  
   
April 1, Tuesday

Osvaldo Sala
Distinguished Sustainability Scientist, Global Institute of Sustainability; Julie A. Wrigley Chair in Life Sciences and Sustainability and Foundation Professor, School of Sustainability; Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Arizona State University
Functioning of grassland ecosystems: water, space and time

4:10 - 5:00 p.m.  
   
April 8, Tuesday Lee Cronk
Rutgers Department of Anthropology
Generosity without debt: Need-based transfers and risk-pooling in human cooperation

4:10 - 5:00 p.m.  
   
April 15, Tuesday

Brad Cardinale
School of Natural Resources & Environment University of Michigan
Does evolution produce ecologically distinct species? A case study with freshwater algae

4:10 - 5:00 p.m.  
   
 
April 22, Tuesday

Su-Jen Roberts
E3B, Columbia University

Intrasexual Competition and Reproduction in Wild Blue Monkeys
4:10 - 5:00 p.m.

 

 
April 29, Tuesday

Bob Howarth
David R. Atkinson Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Cornell University

Methane emissions make shale gas a bridge to nowhere
4:10 - 5:00 p.m.