PHD I Convocation: Biomedical and Affiliated Schools

Year	Faculty Speaker, PhD	PhD Candidate Speaker	Presidential Teaching Awards	GSAC Faculty Mentoring	Dean's Greeting
	Program		to Current PhD Students	Awards	
2003	Klaus Lackner, Earth and Environmental Engineering	Paul Planet, Cellular, Molecular, and Biophysical	N/A		Jeanette Takamura, Social Work
		Studies			
2004	Yves Lussier, Biomedical Informatics	Guillermo Franco, Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics	N/A		Nicholas Lemann, Journalism
2005	Irwin Garfunkel, Social Work	Anirban Mukhopadhyay, Business	George Yancopoulos, MD-PhD Student in Cellular, Molecular, and Biophysical Studies		Zvi Galil, Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science
2006	Michael Gershon, Cell Biology and Pathobiology	Mary Grace Goll, Genetics and Development	N/A	Bjorn Jorgensen, Business	R. Glenn Hubbard, Business
2007	Sherry Glied, Sociomedical Sciences	Janak Parekh, Computer Science	Christian Murphy, Computer Science	Peter Marcuse, Urban Planning	Lee Goldman VP, Medical Center
2008	Jeffery Kysar, Mechanical Engineering	Ellen Ezratty, Anatomy and Cell Biology	Ivy Chen, Biostatistics	Carol Vance, Sociomedical Sciences	Mark Wigley, Architecture, Planning, and Historic Preservation
2009	Jeffery Henig, Teachers College, Politics and Education	Sean White, Computer Science	David K. Elson, Computer Science	Steve Feiner, Computer Science	Linda P. Fried, Mailman School of Public Health

PhD II Convocation: Arts and Sciences

Year	Faculty Speaker, PhD	PhD Candidate Speaker	Dean's Award For	Presidential Teaching	GSAC Faculty
	Program		Distinguished Achievement	Awards to Current PhD	Mentoring Awards
				Students	
1985	Martin Meisel, English and	Michael Dintenfass, History	NA		
	Comparative Literature				
1986	Eugene Rice, History	George Yancopoulos,	NA		
		Cellular, Molecular, and			
		Biophysical Studies (MD-			
		PhD)			
1987	Malvin Ruderman, Physics	Bettina Ann Bergmann, Art	NA		
		History and Archaeology			

PhD II Convocation: Arts and Sciences (continued)

Year	Faculty Speaker, PhD	PhD Candidate Speaker	Dean's Award For	Presidential Teaching	GSAC Faculty
	Program		Distinguished Achievement	Awards to Current PhD Students	Mentoring Awards
1988	Carolyn Heilbrun, Engish and Comparative Literature	Richard Cember, Geological Sciences	NA		
1989	Nathan Scott, Religion	Martha P. Saxton, History	NA		
1990	Nicholas Turro, Chemistry	Michael Winger, Religion	NA		
1991	Ainslie Embree, History	Neil D. Tyson, Astronomy	NA		
1992	Barbara Novak, Art History and Archaeology	Michael Sugrue, History	NA		
1993	Darcy Kelley, Biological Science	Michael Kaufman, English and Comparative Literature	NA		
1994	Ira Katznelson, Political Science	Janet Alder, Biological Sciences	NA		
1995	Elaine Sisman, Music	Claire F. Ullman, Political Science	NA		
1996	Ronald Breslow, Chemistry	Sarah E. Chinn, English and Comparative Literature	NA	Moustafa Bayoumi, English and Comparative Literature; Elizabeth Chamberlain, Spanish and Portuguese; Adrianne Slyz, Astronomy	
1997	Caroline Bynum, History	Alexandre Refregier, Physics	R. Gordon Hoxie 1950 PhD in History	Richard Kernaghan, Anthropology; Elizabeth Brannon, Psychology; Polly Duke, French and Romance Philology	
1998	Jean E. Howard, English and Comparative Literature	Michael W. Flamm, History	Harriet Zuckerman 1965 PhD in Sociology	Paul Christesen, Classics; Michael Larkin, Physics; Adam Rothman, History	
1999	E. Tory Higgins, Psychology	Rita Charon, English and Comparative Literature	Melvin Schwartz 1958 PhD in Physics	Ritu Birla, History; Manuele Gragnolat, Italian; L. Donald McVinney, Social Work	

PhD II Convocation: Arts and Sciences (continued)

Year	Faculty Speaker, PhD	PhD Candidate Speaker	Dean's Award For	Presidential Teaching	GSAC Faculty
	Program		Distinguished Achievement	Awards to Current PhD Students	Mentoring Awards
2000	Robert Jervis, Political Science	Rembert Weakland, Music	Judith Rodin 1971 PhD in Psychology	Jai Kasturi, Middle East and Asian Languages and Cultures; Roosevelt Montas, English and Comparative Literature; David de la Nunez, Industrial Engineering and Operations Research	
2001	Andreas Huyssen, Germanic Languages, Comparative Literature and Society	Timothy Crawfor, Political Science	Eduardo Macagno 1968 PhD in Physics		
2002	David Helfand, Astronomy	Martha S. Jones, History	William S. Knowles 1942 PhD in Chemisry	Tara E. Brendle, Mathematics; Joseph C. McAlhany, Classics; Sophia Yinchee Wong, Philosophy	
2003	Alice Kessler-Harris, History	Joseph McAlhany, Classics	Louis Menand 1980 PhD in English and Comparative Literature	Jacob Noel-Storr (Astronomy), Erin Soros (English), Priya Wadhera (French)	
2004	David Scott Kastan, English and Comparative Literature	Jasia Pietrzak, Psychology	Paul LeClerc 1969 PhD in French and Romance Philology	Timothy Case, Law; Gabriel Perez-Giz, Physics; Nader Uthman, Middle East and Asian Languages and Cultures	David Kastan, English and Comparative Literature
2005	Martin Chalfie, Biological Sciences	Antonina Bambina, Sociology	N/A	Bonita London, Psychology; Peter Park, Chemistry; Robert Westin, Germanic Languages	Volker Berghahn, History
2006	John Huber, Political Science	Mary-Jane Rubenstein, Religion	Leon Lederman 1951 PhD in Physics	Marijeta Bozovic, Slavic Languages; Rebecca Grossman, Physics; Dafna Hochman, Political Science	Jean E. Howard, English and Comparative Literature
2007	Carlos Alonso, Spanish and Portuguese	Chandra Bennett, Ecology, Evolution and Environmental Biology	James Emanuel 1954 PhD in English and Comparative Literature	Corbett Bazler, Music; Denise Milstein, Sociology	Janet Carrie, Economics
2008	Stuart Firestein, Biological Sciences	Rebecca Weitz-Shapiro, Political Science	Norman F. Ramsey 1940 PhD in Physics	Annie Falk, Germanic Languages; Abigail Schade, Psychology	Lydia Goehr, Philosophy
2009	Jagdish Bhagwati, Economics	Karen Hiles, Music	Frank Macchiarola 1972 PhD in Political Science	Raicho Bojilov, Economics; Sonja Mapes, Mathematics	Nena Panourgia, Anthropology

MA Convocation

Year	Speaker, MA Program	MA Candidate Speakers	Dean's Award For
			Distinguished Achievement
1999	Alumna Anna Kisselgoff		William T. Golden 1979 MA in
	1963 MA in History		Biological Science
2000	Professor E. Tory Higgins,		Anna Kisselgoff 1963 MA in
	Psychology		History
2001	NA		John Kander 1954 MA in
			Music
2002	Hilary Ballon, Art History and		Dale Chakarian Turza 1974 MA
	Archaeology		in Art History and Archaeology
2003	Robert Y. Shapiro, Political		William Goldman 1956 MA in
	Science		English and Comparative
			Literature
2004	Farah Griffin, English and		Ronald Stack 1983 MPhil in
	Comparative Literature		Political Science
2005	Maria Cords, Ecology,		Max Frankel 1953 MA in
	Evolution and Environmental		Political Science
	Biology		
2006	Mark Cane, Climate and		Rosa DeLauro 1966 MA in
	Society		Political Science
2007	Robert Hymes, East Asian		NA
	Languages and Cultures	Shahram Hashemi, Liberal	
		Studies: Human Rights	
2008	Sudhir Venkatesh, Sociology	Roy Sheldon, Regional	Peter Lieberson 1940 MA in
		Studies: East Asia	Music
2009	Anne Higonnet, Art History	Jason Ferguson, Quantitative	Sybil S Schainwald 1972 MA
	and Archaeology	Methods in the Social	in Political Science
		Sciences	