Bīrūnī, Muḥammad ibn Aḥmad, Alberuni's India (v. 1)

(London :  Kegan Paul, Trench, Trübner & Co.,  1910.)



Jump to page:

Table of Contents

  Page 176  

176                        ALBERUNPS INDIA.

Page 84.           According to others, the limit of reckoning is koti ;

and starting from koti the succession of the orders of
numbers would be koti, thousands, hundreds, tenths;
for the number of Devas is expressed in kotis. Ac¬
cording to their belief there are thirty-three kotis of
Devas, eleven of which belong to each of the three
beings. Brahman, Narayana, and Mahadeva.

The names of the orders beyond that of the i8th
have been invented by the grammarians, as we have
said already (p. 174).

Further, we observe that the popular name of the
5 th order is Dasa sahasra, that of the 7th order, Dasa
laksha; for the two names which we have mentioned in
the list above (Ayuta Br ayuta) are rarely used.

The book of Aryabhata of Kusumapura gives the
following names of the orders from the ten till 10
koti :—

Pr ayutarh.

Koti padma.

Further, it is noteworthy that some people establish
a kind of etymological relationship between the dif¬
ferent names; so they call the 6th order Niyuta, ac¬
cording to the analogy of the 5th, which is called
Ayuta. Further, they call the 8th order Arbuda,
according to the analogy of the 9th, which is called

There is a similar relation between Nikharva and
Kliarva, the names of the 12th and nth orders, and
between Sanku and Mahctsaiiku, the names of the 13th
and 14th orders. According to this analogy Mahd¬
padma ought to follow immediately after Padma, but
this latter is the name of the loth, the former the
name of the 13th order.

These are differences of theirs which can be traced
back to certain reasons; but besides, there are many
differences   without  any  reason,   which   simply arise
  Page 176