Bīrūnī, Muḥammad ibn Aḥmad, Alberuni's India (v. 2)

(London :  Kegan Paul, Trench, Trübner & Co.,  1910.)



Jump to page:

Table of Contents

  Page 209  

CHAPTER LXXIX.                          209

" 3. Ldta (?), or the general vyatipdtct. Its gauge-
measure is 6 signs.

"4. Cdsa (?). Its gauge-measure is 6 signs and 6-|

" 5. Bctrh (?), also called barhvycttip)dta. Its gauge-
measure is 7 signs and i6f degrees.

" 6. Kdladand.a. Its gauge-measure is 8 signs and
I3i degrees.

" 7. Vydshdtct (?). Its gauge-measure is 9 signs
and 23^3- degrees.

"8.   Vaidhrita.    Its gauge-measure is 12 signs."

These yogcts are well known, but they cannot all be
traced back to a rule in the same way as the 3d and
8th ones. Therefore they have no certain duration
determined by minutes of the fettling, but only by
general estimates. Thus the duration of vydkshdta (?)
and of bctkshUta (?) is one mithitrtet, according to the
statement of Varahamihira, the duration of Ganddnta
and of Barh (?) two muhHrtas.

The Hindus propound this subject at great length
and with much detail, but to no purpose. We have
given an account of it in the above-mentioned book.
(See ii. 208.)

The   canon   Karanatilaka  mentions   twenty-seven Twenty-
yoqas, which are computed in the following manner:      according to

»-i-ii                      -IT           PI                      1          f>i       the Karana •

Add the corrected place ot the sun to that of the tiuka.
moon, reduce the whole sum to minutes, and divide the ^^"^ ^oi-
number by 800. The quotient represents complete
yogas. Multiply the remainder by 60, and divide the
product by the sum of the bhuktis of sun and moon.
The quotient represents the minutes of days and minor
fractions, viz. that time which has elapsed of the cur¬
rent yoga.

We have copied the names and qualities of the
yogcts from Sripala, and exhibit them in the following

VOL. II.                                                                        0
  Page 209