Low Plaza

CNN's Jeff Greenfield to Host DuPont-Columbia Awards, Jan. 17

By Kim Brockway

Jeff Greenfield

Television journalist Jeff Greenfield, senior political analyst for CNN's Election 2000 coverage and for "Inside Politics," will host "Great News! The Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards" in television and radio journalism on Wed., Jan.17. Thirteen/WNET in New York will air the one-hour awards presentation on Thurs., Jan. 18, at 10 p.m. (ET) on PBS (check local listings).

Held in the Rotunda of Columbia's Low Memorial Library, the event features compelling excerpts of news programs -- some never before seen nationwide. This year for the first time, the winning programs will be showcased in their entirety in a special companion program, More Great News: Selections from the duPont-Columbia Awards, on Sun., Jan. 21 from noon - 2 p.m. (ET) on PBS (check local listings).

Presenters at the ceremony will be Michel Martin, ABC News correspondent; Robert Siegel, host of NPR's "All Things Considered;" Len Cannon, correspondent for Dateline NBC; Tom Goldstein, dean of the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, which administers the awards, and George Rupp, president of Columbia University.

The awards go to nationally distributed television programs; major, medium and small market television stations, as well as cable, independent and radio productions. The awards are for programs aired between July 1, 1999 and June 30, 2000. Just as the Pulitzer Prizes celebrate the best in print journalism, the duPont Awards are considered the highest honor in broadcast journalism.

Silver batons are awarded to the winners, and the Gold Baton, the highest award, is given to an individual program or series judged to have made an exceptional contribution to broadcast journalism.

The awards honoring excellence in broadcast journalism were established in 1942 by the late Jessie Ball duPont in memory of her husband, Alfred I. duPont. Since 1968 they have been administered by Columbia's Graduate School of Journalism.

In addition to Dean Tom Goldstein, the jurors for this year's awards are: Philip S. Balboni, president, New England Cable News; Barbara S. Cochran, president, Radio - Television News Directors Association and former CBS News Washington Bureau chief; John Dinges, assistant professor at Columbia Journalism School and former NPR editorial director; Lawrence K. Grossman, a former president of NBC News and PBS; Cynthia Kennard, former CBS news correspondent and now visiting professor at the University of Southern California's Annenberg School for Communications; Eric Mink, television columnist for the "New York Daily News" and formerly, the "St. Louis Post-Dispatch;" and George Strait, former chief medical correspondent for ABC News, now senior vice president at drspock.com.

"Great News! The Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards" is a co-production of Thirteen/WNET New York and the Graduate School of Journalism. Executive producer is Jonnet S. Abeles; producer is Christopher Lukas; director is Wayne Palmer; and Stephen Segaller is executive in charge for Thirteen/WNET.

Published: Dec 22, 2000
Last modified: Sep 18, 2002

Search Columbia News    Advanced Search  Help

Phone: 212.854.5573    Office of Public Affairs