Low Plaza

Columbia to Award Cabot Prizes to Four Journalists for Excellence in Reporting on Latin America

Mónica Gonález, winner of 2001 Maria Moors Cabot Prize

An anchor of the nation's leading Spanish language television network, a columnist for a leading Brazilian newspaper, an investigative reporter from Chile and a veteran foreign correspondent for the Los Angeles Times have been selected by Columbia's Graduate School of Journalism to receive the 2001 Maria Moors Cabot Prize for outstanding reporting on Latin America.

Now in their 63rd year, the Cabot awards are presented to reporters and editors who have covered the Southern Hemisphere and, through their coverage, demonstrated commitment to freedom of the press and inter-American understanding.

This year's winners are: Mónica González, author and journalist based in Santiago de Chile; Jorge Ramos, international news anchor, Univision network, the largest Spanish language television network in the U.S, and a radio commentator for Latino Broadcasting Company; Clóvis Rossi, editor and columnist for Folha de S. Paulo, one of Brazil's leading daily newspapers, and Sebastian Rotella, South America bureau chief of the Los Angeles Times. For more information on the 2001 winners, click here.

Founded in 1938 (and first awarded in 1939) by the late Godfrey Lowell Cabot of Boston as a memorial to his wife, the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes are administered by the School of Journalism.

"The School of Journalism has had an international perspective since its early years, and I am happy to say that our commitment to that vision has grown substantially in the past few years," said Tom Goldstein, dean of the Journalism School. It is especially important that the School of Journalism's international focus has been expanding while international news coverage generally has been in decline since the end of the Cold War. Yet, now more than ever, our economy is global and many of our greatest concerns -- from environmental problems to the spread of new infectious diseases -- are international in nature."

Clovis Rossi, winner of 2001 Maria Moors Cabot Prize

Goldstein and Columbia President George Rupp will present the prizes in a formal ceremony on Thursday, October 4, at 7p.m. in the Rotunda of Low Memorial Library, at Broadway and 116th Street.

Karen Elliott House, president/International, Dow Jones & Company, and Antonio Luis Ferré, publisher of El Nuevo Día of Puerto Rico, are serving as co-chairs of the event. Gustavo Cisneros, chairman & CEO of the Cisneros Group; Alberto Ibargüen, publisher of The Miami Herald, and George Irish, president, Hearst Newspapers, will serve as honorary chairmen.

For the third consecutive year, the award ceremony will be held as a benefit to raise scholarship funds for international students, especially students from Latin America.

Each winner will receive a Cabot gold medal and an honorarium. With this year's awards, 229 and 52 special citations will have been conferred on journalists from more than 30 countries.

The prizes, the oldest international awards in journalism, are awarded by the Trustees of Columbia on the recommendation of the dean of the Journalism School. An advisory committee of journalists and educators concerned with hemisphere affairs assists the dean. Nominations are also sought from news organizations and individuals throughout Latin and North America. For more information on the advisory committee, click here.

Jorge Ramos, 2001 winner of Maria Moors Cabot Prize

The director of the prizes is Anne Nelson, who is also director of international programs at the Journalism School and former executive director of the Committee to Protect Journalists.

The Graduate School of Journalism also conducts the Knight-Bagehot Fellowship Program in Economics and Business Journalism and the National Arts Journalism Program for working journalists. The School of Journalism administers some of the most prestigious prizes in journalism, including the Pulitzer Prizes; the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards in television and radio journalism; the National Magazine Awards; the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize, and the Online Journalism Awards.

Published: Jul 05, 2001
Last modified: Sep 18, 2002

Search Columbia News    Advanced Search  Help

Phone: 212.854.5573    Office of Public Affairs