Low Plaza

Law School's Medal for Excellence Awarded to President-Elect Lee Bollinger

Lee C. Bollinger

Lee C. Bollinger received the Columbia Law School Association's Medal for Excellence at the 53rd Annual Winter Luncheon, held Jan. 25 at the Waldorf-Astoria. David J. Stern, commissioner of the National Basketball Association and chairman of Columbia's Board of Trustees, introduced the honoree.

Bollinger, former president of the University of Michigan and a member of Michigan's law school faculty, was named the nineteenth president of Columbia University in October. He will take office next July. He is also a distinguished scholar and has published numerous books, articles, and essays in scholarly journals on free speech and First Amendment issues and other subjects.

Bollinger is a graduate of the University of Oregon and Columbia Law School, where he was also an articles editor of the Law Review. After serving as law clerk for Judge Wilfred Feinberg on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit and for Chief Justice Warren Burger on the U.S. Supreme Court, he joined the faculty of the University of Michigan Law School in 1973. In 1987, he was named the dean, a position he held for seven years. He became provost of Dartmouth College and professor of government in July 1994 and was named the twelfth president of the University of Michigan in November 1996.

The Medal for Excellence is awarded to alumni/ae or faculty members whose professional accomplishments reflect the qualities of character, intellect and social and professional responsibility that the Columbia Law School nurtures. Previous winners include U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Professor Louis Henkin, Federal District Court Judge Jack B. Weinstein, and former U.S. District Attorney Mary Jo White.

Published: Jan 28, 2002
Last modified:Sep 18, 2002

Search Columbia News    Advanced Search  Help

Phone: 212.854.5573    Office of Public Affairs