Low Plaza

Anders Gyllenhaal, of The News & Observer, Elected to Pulitzer Prize Board

Anders Gyllenhaal

Anders Gyllenhaal, 50, executive editor and senior vice president at The News & Observer of Raleigh, North Carolina, has been elected a member of the Pulitzer Prize Board.

In his 25 years in journalism, Gyllenhaal has worked as an editor and reporter at three newspapers before coming to The News & Observer in 1991. Gyllenhaal worked as metro editor at The News & Observer for four years. He was made managing editor in 1995 and then promoted to editor in Jan. 1997.

Born in Cleveland, Ohio, and raised in a small town in Pennsylvania, Gyllenhaal is a graduate of George Washington University. His first reporting job was at The Daily News Record in Harrisonburg, Virginia. Following that, he worked at The Press in Atlantic City, and then The Miami Herald, where he spent 12 years as a reporter, editor and head of the paper's Fort Lauderdale office.

He is married to Beverly Mills Gyllenhaal, who writes a weekly cooking column that appears in approximately 115 papers across the U.S. and Canada.

Columbia awards the Pulitzer Prizes on the board's recommendation. Members serve a maximum of nine years.

Current members of the Pulitzer Prize Board are: Columbia President George Rupp; Andrew Barnes, chairman and C.E.O., St. Petersburg Times; Louis D. Boccardi, president and chief executive officer, Associated Press; Joann Byrd, editor of the editorial page, Seattle Post-Intelligencer; John S. Carroll, editor and executive vice president, Los Angeles Times; Henry Louis Gates, Jr., W.E.B. DuBois Professor of Humanities, Harvard University; Tom Goldstein, dean, Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University; Doris Kearns Goodwin, historian and biographer; Donald E. Graham, chairman, The Washington Post Company; Jay T. Harris, former publisher, San Jose Mercury News; Richard Oppel, editor, Austin American-Statesman; Rena Pederson, vice president/editorial page editor, The Dallas Morning News; Mike Pride, editor, Concord (NH) Monitor; Sandra Mims Rowe, editor, The Oregonian; William Safire, columnist, The New York Times; Paul Steiger, managing editor, The Wall Street Journal, and Seymour Topping, administrator of the Prizes.

Published: Feb 07, 2002
Last modified:Sep 18, 2002

Search Columbia News    Advanced Search  Help

Phone: 212.854.5573    Office of Public Affairs