Low Plaza

Columbia Ph.D. Candidates Receive 2002 Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award

Columbia Ph.D. candidates Stavros Lomvardas and Saba Valadkhan have been selected to receive the 2002 Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award, sponsored by the Basic Sciences Division of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle.

Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics Ph.D. candidate Lomvardas and Biological Sciences Ph.D. candidate Valadkhan, along with 15 other recipients from various universities, were selected on the basis of the quality, originality and significance of their work in the biological sciences.

All 17 recipients are advanced students at or near the completion of their studies, and will receive a certificate, travel expenses and an honorarium from the Weintraub and Groudine Fund, established to foster intellectual exchange through the promotion of programs for graduate students, fellows and visiting scholars. The winners will also offer presentations during a symposium May 3-4 at the Hutchinson Center's South Lake Union campus in Seattle, Washington

The Weintraub Graduate Student Award, established in 2000, honors the late Harold M. Weintraub an international leader in the field of molecular biology, who died in 1995, at the age of 49, from brain cancer.

Published: Mar 08, 2002
Last modified:Sep 18, 2002

Search Columbia News    Advanced Search  Help

Phone: 212.854.5573    Office of Public Affairs