Low Plaza

P&S' Serge Przedborski Honored for Lou Gehrig's Disease Research

By Adar Novak

Serge Przedborski

Serge Przedborski, associate professor of neurology at the College of Physicians & Surgeons, has been selected by the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) to receive the 2002 Sheila Essey Award for his research on amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or ALS (also known as Lou Gehrig's disease). Przedborski has been a pioneer in the investigation of the molecular mechanisms leading to the death of neurons that occurs in ALS and Parkinson's disease.

The American Academy of Neurology recently presented the $25,000 award to Przedborski at the Academy's 54th annual meeting, where he also delivered a lecture on his work. The AAN presents the award to researchers who have made significant strides in the search for the cause, treatment, prevention and cure for ALS.

"The Sheila Essey Award has been given to the most distinguished clinical and laboratory investigators in ALS, and Przedborski surely belongs among them," said Timothy A. Pedley, the Henry and Lucy Moses Professor and Chairman of Neurology." Przedborski's research is truly translational in nature. Its importance lies in defining 'suicide programs' that seem to be activated in neurodegenerative diseases such as ALS and result in the death of neurons. Thus, Przedborski's work offers hope that we may soon find interventions that stop the degeneration of motor neurons in ALS and prevent the consequences of this terrible disease."

"I am particularly ecstatic because I am being honored by my peers, and I am humbled by the list of previous honorees, whom I regard as the great minds in ALS research," Przedborski said.

In addition to having published more than 100 original articles in prestigious peer-reviewed journals, Przedborski has served as an ad hoc reviewer for publications including the New England Journal of Medicine and Nature Genetics. He also is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Neurochemistry and Movement Disorders and is a member of several professional organizations including the American Academy of Neurology, the Huntington's Disease Society of America and the Muscular Disease Association.

Przedborski also is a member of the NINDS NSD-B study section and an ad hoc reviewer of the NIH BDCN-3 study section.

Przedborski is the second Columbia faculty member to receive this award. The AAN presented the 1998 award to Lewis P. Rowland, professor of neurology and chairman emeritus, along with Theodore L. Munsat, director of the Neuromuscular Research Unit at the New England Medical Center, and professor of neurology and pharmacology at Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston.

Published: Apr 19, 2002
Last modified:Sep 18, 2002

Search Columbia News    Advanced Search  Help

Phone: 212.854.5573    Office of Public Affairs