Home Help
 Academic Programs
 Research
 Libraries
 Medical Center
 Athletics
 Arts
 Events Calendar
 Prospective Students
 Students
 Faculty & Staff
 Alumni
 Neighbors
 About Columbia
 A–Z Index
 E-mail & Computing


Columbia News
Search Columbia News
 
Advanced Search
News Home | New York Stories | The Record | Archives | Submit Story Ideas | About | RSS Feed


Columbia Celebrates Black Heritage Month, Honoring Leaders of Our Past, Present and Future

 

"Honoring Leaders of Our Past, Present and Future," is the theme of Columbia University's 2004 Black Heritage Month celebration. Upcoming events include:

Wednesday, February 4
B.O.S.S. Black Art Exhibit Opening Reception
7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
C555 Alfred Lerner Hall

Thursday, February 5
Malcolm X Lounge Unveiling
9:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Malcolm X Lounge, Hartley Hall

Friday, February 6
Black Heritage Month Step Show
Performance, 8:00 p.m. 10:00 p.m.
Roone Arledge Auditorium, Alfred Lerner Hall
After-party , 10:00 p.m. 2:00 a.m.
MacIntosh Hall, Barnard College

Monday, February 9
Seoul Food- B.S.O and K.S.A. Collaboration
9:30 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Lerner Party Space, Alfred Lerner Hall

Tuesday, February 10
Black Heritage Month Movie Night: 'Malcolm X'
9:00 p.m. - midnight
Lerner Cinema, Alfred Lerner Hall

Wednesday, February 11
Black and Latino Relations Discussion
8:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
E-569 Conference Room

B.O.S.S. Happiness and Inner Peace Workshop

8:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Barnard Venue To Be Announced

Thursday, February 12

QoC Social
9:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Malcolm X Lounge, Hartley Hall

Sex Games with Judith Steinhart from "Go Ask Alice !"
8:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
McBain Lounge, McBain Hall

Friday, February 13

BSO The Dating Game
9:00 p.m. - midnight
Location, To Be Announced

Saturday, February 14

Black Heritage Month Semiformal
8:00 p.m.- midnight
Low Rotunda

Sunday, February 15

Dole Dance Workshop
2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
E-477 Alfred Lerner Hall

Monday, February 16

Audre Lorde Poetry Celebration
7:30 p.m.- 10:30 p.m.
C555 Alfred Lerner Hall

Wednesday, February 18th

John Jay Celebrates Black History Month with Special Dinner, Live Music
5:00 p.m. -- 8:00 p.m.
John Jay Dining Hall

Thursday, February 19

Source, Hip Hop Discussion and Dinner with Fahiym Ratcliffe
9:00 p.m.- 11:00 p.m.
Jed D. Satow Room, Alfred Lerner Hall

Friday, February 20

Roots and Culture, Def Poetry Jam
8:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
C555 Alfred Lerner Hall

African American Studies Institute Faculty Dinner
Faculty House

Youth Leadership Conference Begins

Saturday, February 21
Independence Day BTE Performance
First Performance: 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Second Performance: 8:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Black Box Theatre, Alfred Lerner Hall

Sunday, February 22

BHM Youth Basketball Tournament
1:00 p.m.- 3:00 p.m.
Basketball Court, Dodge Physical Fitness Center

Independence Day BTE Performance
3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Black Box Theatre, Alfred Lerner Hall

Youth Leadership Conference Concludes

Monday, February 23

Drop the Rock- Rockefeller Drug Law Discussion
8:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
C555 Alfred Lerner Hall

Tuesday, February 24

Kappa Alpha Psi and Alpha Kappa Alpha Relationship Forum
7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Malcolm X Lounge, Hartley Hall

Wednesday, February 25

B.O.S.S. Black Women in Politics Panel
7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Jed D. Satow Room, Alfred Lerner Hall

Thursday, February 26

Black Artist Talk
Time To Be Announced
The Studio Museum of Harlem ( 125 th Street between 7 th and Lenox Avenues)

Saturday, February 28

Melange Fashion Show
8:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Roone Arledge Auditorium, Alfred Lerner Hall

Sunday, February 29

Black Heritage Month Closing Reception
8:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Roone Arledge Auditorium, Alfred Lerner Hall

For additional information, or to confirm an event time location, contact Student Development and Activities, at 212-854-3611.

Published: Feb 03, 2004
Last modified: Jan 10, 2005

Tell your friend about this story