Home Help
 Academic Programs
 Medical Center
 Events Calendar
 Prospective Students
 Faculty & Staff
 About Columbia
 A–Z Index
 E-mail & Computing

Columbia News
Search Columbia News
Advanced Search
News Home | New York Stories | The Record | Archives | Submit Story Ideas | About | RSS Feed

5 Columbia Faculty Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Five Columbia University professors have been elected to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences. Their election, in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research, is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a U.S. scientist or engineer.

About 40 Columbia faculty members are currently members of the Academy. The latest members on Columbia's faculty:

• Louis E. Brus, Thomas A. Edison Professor of Chemical Engineering

Brus is one of the founders of a new branch of solid state physics and chemistry: inorganic nanostructures. He pioneered the study of physical, electronic and chemical properties of semiconductor nanocrystals as a function of their size.

• Martin Chalfie, William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Biological Sciences

Chalfie revolutionized many aspects of biological research by introducing the technique of vitally labeling cells in intact organisms with the jellyfish green fluorescent protein (GFP). He is one of the world's foremost neurogeneticists and developmental geneticists.

• Barry H. Honig, Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics

Honig has made landmark contributions to understanding the physical chemical basis for the structure and function of biological macromolecules. He has consistently made theoretical and computational advances in demystifying basic biochemical processes, and his research has had a broad impact in structural biology.

• Dennis Kent, Adjunct Senior Research Scientist, Lamont-Doherty Observatory

Kent has made seminal and widely used findings in such fields as paleomagnetism, magnetic mineralogy and the history of the Earth's magnetic field.

• Walter Mischel, Robert Johnson Niven Professor of Humane Letters in Psychology

Mischel changed personality-social psychology by demonstrating that individual differences in social behaviors tend to be surprisingly variable across different situations. Additionally, his work on delay of gratification is a model of how to conduct personality research.

The announcement came during the Academy's 141 st annual meeting on April 20. A total of 72 new U.S. members were named, along with 18 foreign associates from 13 countries.

Those elected bring the total number of active members to 1,949. Foreign associates are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States. The election brings the total number of foreign associates to 351.

Related Links

Published: Apr 22, 2004
Last modified: Jan 10, 2005

Tell your friend about this story