Home Help
 Academic Programs
 Medical Center
 Events Calendar
 Prospective Students
 Faculty & Staff
 About Columbia
 A–Z Index
 E-mail & Computing

Columbia News
Search Columbia News
Advanced Search
News Home | New York Stories | The Record | Archives | Submit Story Ideas | About | RSS Feed

Eleven Faculty Members Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Eleven Columbia professors have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the nation's preeminent learned society and a research institution. They are among 196 new Fellows and 17 Foreign Honorary members.

The 2005 Columbia inductees include:

  • Qais Al Awqati , Robert F. Loeb Professor of Medicine and Physiology, discovered the vacuolar proton-ATPase.
  • Richard Brilliant , Anna S. Garbedian Professor in the Humanities, Emeritus and special lecturer, transformed the study of classical art, opening the field to new critical methods of historical and structural analysis.
  • Victoria de Grazia, professor of history, is best-known for her work on Italy, notably The Culture of Consent: Mass Organization of Leisure in Fascist Italy and How Fascism Ruled Women.
  • Zvi Galil , dean of the Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, is a leader in the engineering and scientific communities and has invented algorithmic techniques and designed algorithms for many computational problems.
  • Lynn Garafola , professor of dance at Barnard College, is a a dance critic and historian. She curated the New-York Historical Society's exhibition "Dance for a City: Fifty Years of the New York City Ballet."
  • Iva S. Greenwald , professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics and Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, is a pioneer in the field of LIN-12/Notch signaling.
  • Alice Kessler-Harris , R. Gordon Hoxie Professor of American History and department chair, specializes in the history of American labor and the comparative and interdisciplinary exploration of women and gender.
  • Robert Henry Legvold , professor of political science, is the author of studies on foreign and military policies of Soviet and post-Soviet states, arms control and international politics.
  • Andrew Robert Marks , Clyde & Helen Wu Professor of Medicine and chair of the department of physiology & cellular biophysics, discovered the calcium release channel macromolecular complex and the mechanism by which PKA phosphorylation of the channel enhances cardiac contractility.
  • Gary Struhl, professor of genetics and development and Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, discovered the nature and mode of action of spatial determinants controlling pattern formation in animal development.
  • Nancy Sabin Wexler, Higgins Professor of Neuropsychology, was the founding chair of the Human Genome Project's Ethical, Legal and Social Issues Working Group.

The new members were inducted in a ceremony on Saturday, Oct. 8, at the Academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

"It gives me great pleasure to welcome these outstanding leaders in their fields in this, the Academy's 225th year," said Academy President Patricia Meyer Spacks. "Fellows are selected through a highly competitive process that recognizes individuals who have made preeminent contributions to their disciplines and to society at large."

"Throughout its history, the Academy has convened the leading thinkers of the day, from diverse perspectives, to participate in projects and studies that advance the public good," added Executive Officer Leslie Berlowitz. "I am confident that this distinguished class of new Fellows will continue that tradition of cherishing knowledge and shaping the future."

The 2005 class includes: Google co-founders Sergey Brin and Larry Page; journalist Tom Brokaw; Washington Post Company CEO Donald Graham; Time, Inc., CEO Ann Moore; Academy Award-winning actor and director Sidney Poitier; the late Supreme Court Chief Justice William Rehnquist; Steven Squyres, leader of NASA's Rover program for the exploration of Mars, and Pulitzer Prize winners Horton Foote, Tony Kushner, Alison Lurie, and Art Spiegelman.

Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members are nominated and elected to the Academy by current members. A broad-based membership, comprised of scholars and practitioners from mathematics, physics, biological sciences, social sciences, humanities and the arts, public affairs and business, gives the Academy a unique capacity to conduct a wide range of interdisciplinary studies and public policy research.

Founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, the Academy has elected as Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation, including George Washington and Ben Franklin in the 18 th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19 th, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the 20 th. The current membership includes more than 150 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Related Links

Published: Oct 10, 2005
Last modified: Oct 11, 2005

Tell your friend about this story