Home Help
 Academic Programs
 Medical Center
 Events Calendar
 Prospective Students
 Faculty & Staff
 About Columbia
 A–Z Index
 E-mail & Computing

Columbia News
Search Columbia News
Advanced Search
News Home | New York Stories | The Record | Archives | Submit Story Ideas | About | RSS Feed

William Campbell Elected Chair of Columbia Trustees; Three New Members Join Board

Patricia M. Cloherty

President Lee C. Bollinger has announced the election of a new chair and three distinguished alumni as University Trustees.

William V. Campbell, a former executive of Apple Computer, Kodak and Intuit, has been elected chair of the Trustees of the University. Patricia M. Cloherty, chief executive officer of Delta Private Equity Partners; Ann F. Kaplan, chair of the Circle Financial Group, an investment think tank; and Michael B. Rothfeld, a theatrical producer and private equity investor, were elected to serve on the 24-member board.

Campbell, a 1962 alumnus of Columbia College, captained the Lions football team to the Ivy League championship in 1961, returned to coach the Lions from 1974 to 1979, and then embarked on a career in business. Over the decades, Campbell's contributions to Columbia University have been extensive. They range from the renovation of the Aldo T. "Buff" Donelli Intercollegiate Strength Room in the Dodge Physical Fitness Center to the endowment of the Roberta and William Campbell Professorship in Contemporary Civilization. Campbell has received both Columbia College's prestigious Alexander Hamilton Medal (2000) and the John Jay Award (1991).

"Bill has never wavered in his support of Columbia," said President Bollinger. "I know that his deep and passionate commitment and proven leadership to his alma mater will be enormously important to the future."

Ann F. Kaplan

A leader in the software industry, Campbell served as president and chief executive officer of Intuit from 1994 to 2000, and previously served as president and chief executive officer of GO Corporation. He also was founder, president and chief executive officer of Claris Corporation. Before starting Claris, Campbell was executive vice president of Apple Computer. In 1983 he joined Apple Computer from Kodak where he was general manager of consumer products for Kodak Europe. Prior to joining Kodak, Campbell was vice president at J. Walter Thompson in New York. He continues to serve on the boards of Apple Computer and Opsware Inc., and is a director of the National Football Foundation College Hall of Fame.

Campbell succeeds David J. Stern, the NBA commissioner, as chair. Stern, Law '66, has held that position since June 2001.

"I am truly honored," Campbell said. "I have great regard for Columbia University, and particularly for Lee Bollinger. This Trustee group, under David Stern's leadership, has been very engaged in the University's strategy and direction, and it is my hope to continue this momentum."

Of Stern, who is now Chair Emeritus, Bollinger added, "My conversations with David in 2001 were instrumental in my decision to come to Columbia, and it has been my great privilege to work with him over the past three years. David is wholly devoted to this University, and I am grateful to him for many things, and in particular for his steadfast focus on Columbia's welfare."

In other developments, three new trustees were elected: Patricia Cloherty, Ann Kaplan and Michael Rothfeld.

"On behalf of Columbia University, I am pleased to welcome Patricia Cloherty, Ann Kaplan and Michael Rothfeld as new Trustees. They join the ranks of the University Trustees who have helped lead and shape this exceptional institution throughout its history," said President Bollinger. "As alumni, these individuals have demonstrated their passionate commitment to Columbia, and their talents and backgrounds represent the diversity of knowledge and experiences at the University."

Michael B. Rothfeld

Venture capitalist Patricia M. Cloherty, SIPA'68, TC'68, is chair and chief executive officer of Delta Private Equity Partners, a private equity firm that finances emerging growth companies in Russia. Prior to that, from 1970, she was general partner of Apax partners, an international private equity firm. She currently also is a trustee of Teachers' College at Columbia University. Cloherty is past president and chair of the National Venture Capital Association of the United States. Her public service includes serving as deputy administrator of the U.S. Small Business Administration (S.B.A.) under President Jimmy Carter, as chair of an Investment Advisory Council to revamp S.B.A.'s Small Business Investment Company program for President George H.W. Bush, and as chair of the board of the U.S. Russia Investment Fund for President William J. Clinton.

The second trustee elected is financial advisor Ann F. Kaplan, Social Work'72, Business'77. Kaplan is chair of the Circle Financial Group, an investment think tank that analyzes capital markets and provides information on investment opportunities. She is also an adjunct professor of finance at Columbia's the Columbia University School of Business. Kaplan joined Goldman Sachs in 1977 and became a general partner in 1990, managing various areas of the municipal bond department until 2000. During her last three years at the firm, she was a member of the asset management division, focusing on wealth management. Kaplan serves on the Boards of Financial Guaranty Insurance Company and Signature Bank, corporations headquartered in New York City. She also serves on the Boards of the American Red Cross, Smith College, the Museum of Arts & Design, Women's World Banking and the Bond Market Foundation.

The third new trustee is Michael B. Rothfeld, CC'69, Business'71, Journalism'71, who also was an international fellow at Columbia's School of International and Public Affairs from 1970 to 1971. Rothfeld is chair of the Board of Visitors of Columbia College and has served on the advisory board of the Journalism school's Knight-Bagehot program in business and financial journalism. Rothfeld has been an associate editor of Fortune magazine, assistant to the chairman and chief executive officer of Time Inc., a managing director in the investment banking division of The First Boston Corporation and, through private corporations, a general partner of Bessemer Capital Partners, L.P., and of Bessemer Holdings, L.P. Since 1998, he has produced plays on and off Broadway and been a private investor.

Columbia traditionally has 24 Trustees elected for six-year terms. Twelve Trustees are elected by the Trustees acting alone, six by the Trustees working in consultation with the executive committee of the University Senate, and six elected after nomination by the University's alumni. Cloherty and Kaplan were elected as Alumni Trustees and Rothfeld was elected as a Senate-consulted Trustee. The newly elected Trustees began their terms on Sept. 6.

Published: Oct 04, 2005
Last modified: Oct 05, 2005

Tell your friend about this story