Home Help
 Academic Programs
 Medical Center
 Events Calendar
 Prospective Students
 Faculty & Staff
 About Columbia
 A–Z Index
 E-mail & Computing

Columbia News
Search Columbia News
Advanced Search
News Home | New York Stories | The Record | Archives | Submit Story Ideas | About | RSS Feed

Nov. 4, 2005

Columbians Selected for American Association for the Advancement of Science, Institute of Medicine

Four Columbians have been honored by The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). David H. Cohen, James L. Leighton, Aaron P. Mitchell and Jeffrey D. Sachs are among AAAS's 376 new fellows.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. Fellows are selected for their efforts toward advancing scientifically or socially distinguished science applications.

  • David H. Cohen, professor of psychiatry and biological sciences, was cited for developing one of the first vertebrate models for cellular studies of learning, and for leadership in professional societies and university administration.
  • James L. Leighton, professor of chemistry, was selected for his extraordinary developments in chiral reagents for stereoselective reactions and in total synthesis of natural products.
  • Aaron P. Mitchell, the Harold S. Ginsberg Professor of Molecular Pathogenesis in the Department of Microbiology, was recognized for his distinguished contributions to the field of molecular medical mycology and for development of novel genetic approaches to dissect signaling networks governing differentiation and virulence.
  • Jeffrey D. Sachs, director of the Earth Institute and director of the U.N. Millennium Project, was recognized for his original economic research and his commitment to applying that research to issues of sustainable development and global equity.

Carol L. Prives, professor of biological sciences, is among 64 newly elected members of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. Prives was credited for her fundamental contributions to the understanding of tumor suppression and her outstanding and inspiring mentoring to her students and postdoctoral fellows, particularly women. She is active in many areas of the cancer research community, from serving on boards as member and chairman, to reviewing for the NIH and for prestigious journals.

The Institute of Medicine was established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences to honor professional achievement in the health sciences and to serve as a national resource for independent analysis and recommendations on issues related to medicine, biomedical sciences and health.


Related Links

Tell your friend about this story