Home Help
 Academic Programs
 Medical Center
 Events Calendar
 Prospective Students
 Faculty & Staff
 About Columbia
 A–Z Index
 E-mail & Computing

Columbia News
Search Columbia News
Advanced Search
News Home | New York Stories | The Record | Archives | Submit Story Ideas | About | RSS Feed
Columbia University 2006 Commencement, 252nd Academic Year

A live Web cast of commencement begins at 9:00 a.m.

More than 30,000 students, alumni, faculty and guests will gather at Columbia's Morningside campus for the main commencement exercises on May 17 at 10:30 a.m. (campus maps). University President Lee C. Bollinger, who began his Columbia tenure in June 2002 shortly before the arrival of this graduating class, will deliver the commencement address, following tradition.
The Class of 2006
Congratulations to the Class of 2006.

The day is the capstone experience for undergraduate and graduate students who have worked tirelessly in pursuit of academic excellence.

The University will grant six honorary degrees and present the University Medal for Excellence as part of the ceremony (full text). This year's honorary degree recipients are a diverse group of leaders from academia, medicine, politics and finance. They are Oswaldo Payá Sardiñas (English, Spanish), prominent Cuban human rights organizer and director of the Varela Project; Maya Lin, the architect famous for designing the Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington, D.C.; Irving Weissman, distinguished cell biologist famous for his pioneering work on stem cells; Kenneth Chenault, chair and chief executive officer of The American Express Co.; Columbia Professor of Applied Mathematics Emeritus Chia-Kun Chu; and prominent professor and historian Gerda Lerner.

Sallie Krawcheck, Citigroup chief financial officer, will receive the University Medal for Excellence.

Columbia also will award 10 Alumni Medals for outstanding work on behalf of Alma Mater. Joining the rolls of distinguished honorees are Joseph Anthony Ciccio Jr. (SEAS'79, Dental'83); Bernard Goldman (CC'46, SEAS'47, Journalism'48); Edward T.C. Lau (Business'73); Barbara Voorhis Levy (GS'48); Susan A. Nayowith (SSW'84); Renan Pierre (CC'86, SEAS'87); Clyde E."Skip" Rankin III (SIPA'74, Law'75); Wendy Supovitz Reilly (Barnard'63); Alan M. Silberstein (SEAS'69); and P. Roy Vagelos (P&S'54, Hon. Sc.D.'90). A complete list of medalists and their bios is available online.

Each year, the University bestows Presidential Teaching Awards to its faculty. Awardees this year are Melissa D. Begg, professor of clinical biostatistics, Department of Biostatistics; Marc L. Dickstein, associate professor of clinical anesthesiology, Department of Anesthesiology; Eric Foner, the DeWitt Clinton Professor of History, Department of History; Laurie S. Hodrick, professor of finance and economics, Graduate School of Business; and Nikolaus Wolcz, associate professor of professional practice, School of the Arts.

For directions, credential requirements, media tickets or complete information on individual school ceremonies, visit the official 2006 Commencement Web site.

Published: May 17, 2006
Last modified: May 17, 2006