Home Help
 Academic Programs
 Medical Center
 Events Calendar
 Prospective Students
 Faculty & Staff
 About Columbia
 A–Z Index
 E-mail & Computing

Columbia News
Search Columbia News
Advanced Search
News Home | New York Stories | The Record | Archives | Submit Story Ideas | About | RSS Feed
Cabot Prizes for Outstanding Reporting on Latin America Awarded

The Graduate School of Journalism announced the winners of the Maria Moors Cabot Prize for outstanding reporting on Latin America on June 21. The Cabot Prize honors journalists who have covered the Western Hemisphere and demonstrated a commitment to freedom of the press and inter-American understanding.

Cabot Medal
Prize winners receive the Cabot medal and a $5,000 honorarium, plus travel expenses to New York City and hotel accommodations for the presentation ceremony. Medalists' news organizations receive a bronze plaque.

This year's winners are independent journalist and writer Mario Vargas Llosa; Ginger Thompson, Mexico City bureau chief for The New York Times; Josť Hamilton Ribeiro, special reporter for TV Globo, Brazil; and Matt Moffett, South American correspondent for The Wall Street Journal.

Columbia President Lee C. Bollinger will present the prizes at a dinner and ceremony on Oct. 11 in the rotunda of Low Memorial Library.

"This year's winners exemplify the Cabot Prize standard -- the highest level of professional and probing journalism in the pursuit of inter-American understanding -- from sweeping commentary to grassroots reporting," said Nicholas Lemann, dean of the school. "The journalism school is proud of its 68-year history of awarding these prizes, and we applaud the winners that were selected this year."

Mario Vargas Llosa
Mario Vargas Llosa

Vargas Llosa, a world-renowned author, novelist, critic, essayist and thinker, has made a distinguished contribution to journalism. As a relentless print and broadcast reporter, careful crafter of words, and chronicler of human achievement and folly, he has spent a lifetime defending democratic values and promoting inter-American understanding.

Ginger Thompson
Ginger Thompson

For nearly 15 years, Thompson, as The New York Times' Mexico City bureau chief, has been indispensable reading for those who want to understand the intimate and sometimes painful relationship between the United States and its near neighbors Mexico, Central America and Haiti.

Josť Hamilton Ribeiro
Josť Hamilton Ribeiro

Ribeiro has become a role model for generations of young Brazilian journalists because of the unflagging energy and commitment to journalism he has shown in his 50-year career.

Matt Moffett
Matt Moffett

Moffett has shown bravery, consistency, humor and excellence in nearly two decades of covering Latin America's crises, growth and stagnation.

Founded in 1938 by the late Godfrey Lowell Cabot of Boston as a memorial to his wife, the Maria Moors Cabot Prize is the oldest international award in journalism. The prize has been awarded 249 times, and 55 special citations have been conferred on journalists from more than 30 countries. The prizes are administered by the Graduate School of Journalism at Columbia University under the guidance of Josh Friedman, director of international programs at the school. Recommendations for winners are made with the advice and approval of the board of the prizes.

For more information, visit the Web site of the Cabot Awards.

Published: Jun 23, 2006
Last modified: Jun 26, 2006