Home Help
 Academic Programs
 Medical Center
 Events Calendar
 Prospective Students
 Faculty & Staff
 About Columbia
 A–Z Index
 E-mail & Computing

Columbia News
Search Columbia News
Advanced Search
News Home | New York Stories | The Record | Archives | Submit Story Ideas | About | RSS Feed
Nearly 12,000 Students to Graduate May 16

Columbia University will host more than 30,000 students, alumni, faculty and guests at the main commencement exercises on May 16 at 10:30 a.m. on the Morningside campus. The University will confer degrees to nearly 12,000 students.
The Class of 2006
Congratulations to the Class of 2007

A live Web cast of commencement begins at 10:30 a.m. EDT.

The day is the capstone experience for undergraduate and graduate students who have worked tirelessly in pursuit of academic excellence. University President Lee C. Bollinger will deliver the commencement address, following tradition.

In addition, the University will confer eight honorary degrees and one Medal for Excellence at its commencement ceremony. This year’s honorary degree recipients represent a diverse group of leaders from academia, medicine, politics and finance. Among them are: President Aharon Barak, former president of the Supreme Court of Israel and a legal scholar; Santiago Calatrava, an architect, artist and engineer best known for his bridges and transportation projects; Benjamin S. Carson Sr., director of pediatric neurosurgery and professor of neurosurgery, oncology, plastic surgery and pediatrics at the Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions; Susan Lindquist, a microbiologist, professor of biology at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and investigator with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Barbara Novak, the Helen Goodhart Altschul Emerita Professor of Art History at Barnard College; Felix G. Rohatyn, former U.S. Ambassador to France from 1997 to 2000; Jonathan Spence, the Sterling Professor of History at Yale University; and Stephen Joel Trachtenberg, president of George Washington University for 19 years and a 1959 graduate of Columbia College.

The Medal for Excellence, awarded to an outstanding graduate of the University under the age of 45, will be presented to Emmy-award winning journalist Suzanne Malveaux, the White House correspondent for CNN.

Columbia also will award 10 Alumni Medals for outstanding work on behalf of Alma Mater. Joining the rolls of distinguished honorees are Alexandra E. Baranetsky (Dental Medicine ‘80); Michael H. Barnett (Public Health ’70, Law ’72); and A’Lelia P. Bundles (Journalism ’76). A complete list of all 10 medalists and their bios is available online.

In addition, the University annually bestows teaching awards on its own faculty. Awardees this year include: Joyce K. Anastasi, professor of clinical nursing, the School of Nursing; Patricia J. Culligan, professor of civil engineering and engineering mechanics, Department of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics; Donald C. Hood, James F. Bender Professor in Psychology and Professor of Ophthalmic Science, Department of Psychology and Ophthalmology; Liza Knapp, associate professor of Slavic languages, Department of Slavic Languages; and Susan P. Sturm, the George M. Jaffin Professor of Law and Social Responsibility, School of Law.

For directions, credential requirements, media tickets or complete information on individual school ceremonies, visit the official 2007 Commencement Web site. For the latest news, visit Commencement News.

Published: May 10, 2007
Last modified: May 16, 2007