Home Help
 Academic Programs
 Medical Center
 Events Calendar
 Prospective Students
 Faculty & Staff
 About Columbia
 A–Z Index
 E-mail & Computing

Columbia News
Search Columbia News
Advanced Search
News Home | New York Stories | The Record | Archives | Submit Story Ideas | About | RSS Feed

Oct. 2, 2007

Three Columbia Professors Chosen for American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Robert Erikson
Robert S. Erikson

Three Columbia University faculty members will be inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences at a ceremony on Saturday, Oct. 6, in Cambridge, Mass.

Celebrated for their superior scholarship, artistic triumphs and exemplary service to society, the 227th class of Fellows includes the following Columbia faculty: Robert S. Erikson, Professor of Political Science, Barry Honig, Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics; and Allan G. Rosenfield, Dean, Mailman School of Public Health; DeLamar Professor of Public Health; Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Barry Honig
Barry Honig

Founded in 1780, the Academy honors excellence each year by electing to membership the finest minds and most influential leaders of the day. Among this year’s new members are former Vice President Albert Gore, Jr.; former Supreme Court Associate Justice Sandra Day O’Connor; New York Mayor and businessman Michael Bloomberg; Google Chairman and CEO Eric Schmidt; New York Times investigative correspondent James Risen; filmmaker Spike Lee; acclaimed chef, activist and cookbook author Alice Waters; Pixar Chief Creative Officer John Lasseter.

Allan G. Rosenfield
Allan G. Rosenfield

Six members of the newly elected class will address their colleagues at the induction ceremony at Harvard University’s Sanders Theatre: MIT robotics professor and co-founder of the iRobot Corporation Rodney Brooks; Princeton University molecular biologist Bonnie Bassler; civil rights champion and University of California, Berkeley, law school dean Christopher Edley, Jr.; American opera singer and solo recitalist Jessye Norman; prize-winning architect Billie Tsien; and mathematician and University of Chicago President Robert J. Zimmer.

“The induction ceremony is an opportunity to welcome new members and celebrate the extraordinary history of the organization, now in its third century of service to the nation,” said Chief Executive Officer Leslie Berlowitz. “The Academy both honors excellence by electing members to its fellowship and draws on that distinguished membership to address critical social and intellectual issues. It does so through studies, publications, meetings and symposia.”

The 202 new Fellows and 23 new Foreign Honorary Members are leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs. They come from 27 states and 12 countries, and range in age from 36 to 92. They represent dozens of universities, corporations, museums, research institutes, media outlets and foundations, and include seven university presidents or chancellors; winners of Nobel and Pulitzer prizes, and Academy Awards; and two former chairs of the President’s Council of Economic Advisors.

New Fellows and Honorary Foreign Members are nominated and elected by current members of the Academy. Members are divided into five broad classes: mathematics and physical sciences; biological sciences; social sciences; humanities and the arts; and public affairs, business and administration.

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is an independent research center that conducts multidisciplinary studies of complex and emerging problems. Current Academy research focuses on: science, technology, and global security; social policy and American Institutions; the humanities and culture; and education.