Home Help
 Academic Programs
 Medical Center
 Events Calendar
 Prospective Students
 Faculty & Staff
 About Columbia
 A–Z Index
 E-mail & Computing

Columbia News
Search Columbia News
Advanced Search
News Home | New York Stories | The Record | Archives | Submit Story Ideas | About | RSS Feed

Dec. 7, 2007

Paul Gigot, Wall Street Journal Editorial Page Editor, Joins Pulitzer Prize Board

Columbia University today announces that Paul Gigot, the editorial page editor and vice president of The Wall Street Journal, has been elected to the Pulitzer Prize Board.

Paul Gigot

Paul Gigot

With nearly 30 years of service, Gigot has been the paper’s editorial page editor and vice president since September 2001. He is responsible for the newspaper’s editorials, op-ed articles and Leisure & Arts criticism, and directs the editorial pages of the Journal’s Asian and European editions and the OpinionJournal.com Web site. He is also the host of the weekly half-hour news program Journal Editorial Report on the Fox News Channel.
Gigot joined the Journal in 1980 as a reporter in Chicago, and in 1982 he became the Journal's Asia correspondent, based in Hong Kong. He won an Overseas Press Club award for his reporting on the Philippines.

In 1984, he was named the first editorial page editor of the Asian Wall Street Journal, based in Hong Kong. In 1987, he was assigned to Washington, where he contributed editorials and a weekly column on politics, “Potomac Watch,” which won the 2000 Pulitzer Prize for commentary.

Gigot is a summa cum laude graduate of Dartmouth College, where he was chair of the daily student newspaper. 

The 91st annual Pulitzer Prizes will be announced on April 7, 2008 and presented in May at a ceremony at Columbia. The prizes are awarded annually for excellence in journalism, literature, music and drama in 21 categories.

The Pulitzer Prizes, which are administered at Columbia, were established by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American journalist and newspaper publisher, who left money to Columbia upon his death in 1911. A portion of his bequest was used to found the School of Journalism in 1912 and establish the Pulitzer Prizes, which were first awarded in 1917.

The 19-member board is composed mainly of leading editors or news executives from media outlets across the United States, as well as four academics. The dean of Columbia’s Graduate School of Journalism and the administrator of the prizes are nonvoting members. The chair rotates annually to the most senior member. The board is self-perpetuating in the election of members. Voting members may serve three terms of three years for a total of nine years.