Home Help
 Academic Programs
 Medical Center
 Events Calendar
 Prospective Students
 Faculty & Staff
 About Columbia
 A–Z Index
 E-mail & Computing

Columbia News
Search Columbia News
Advanced Search
News Home | New York Stories | The Record | Archives | Submit Story Ideas | About | RSS Feed

April 10, 2008

Six Columbia Professors Receive Guggenheim Fellowships

Six Columbia University professors have won Guggenheim Foundation Fellowships. They are Margo Jefferson, Sam Lipsyte, Samuel Moyn, Peter Ozsváth, Alexander Stille, and Jonathan Weiner. The awards are granted by the Guggenheim Foundation in recognition of “stellar achievement and exceptional promise for continued accomplishment.” These new Guggenheim Fellows are among 190 artists, scientists and scholars who were selected from a pool of more than 2,600 applicants.

"I congratulate the six Columbia winners of Guggenheim fellowships," said Provost Alan Brinkley. "Their achievements remind us of the extraordinary distinction of our faculty and of our long and continuing history of important scholarship."

Professor Margo Jefferson's book, On Michael Jackson
Cover of professor Margo Jefferson's book, On Michael Jackson

Creative writing professor Margo Jefferson is a cultural critic for The New York Times. She has been a daily book reviewer, the Sunday theater critic and a Sunday Book Review columnist. In 1995 she received a Pulitzer Prize for Criticism. Her book, On Michael Jackson, was published in 2006. She is currently studying racial composition and improvisation.

Sam Lipsyte is the associate director of undergraduate creative writing and author of the novel Home Land, a New York Times Notable Book for 2005 and winner of the Believer Book Award. He is also the author of The Subject Steve and Venus Drive, named one of the 25 Best Books of 2000 by the Village Voice Literary Supplement.

Professor Lipsyte's book, Home Land
Cover of professor Sam Lipsyte's book, Home Land

History professor Samuel Moyn won the 2007 Sybil Halpern Milton Memorial Prize of the German Studies Association for his book A Holocaust Controversy: The Treblinka Affair in Postwar France. The prize is awarded every second year for the best book dealing with Nazi Germany and the Holocaust in its broadest context.

Math professor Peter Ozsváth previously won the American Mathematical Society 2007 Oswald Veblen Prize. Granted every three years, the Veblen Prize is one of the field's highest honors for work in geometry or topology, the study of the intrinsic properties of spaces.

Alexander Stille, the San Paolo Professor of International Journalism, is the author of The Sack of Rome: How a Beautiful European Country with a Fabled History and a Storied Culture Was Taken Over by a Man Named Silvio Berlusconi, and several other books.

Journalism professor Jonathan Weiner is the author of several books, including The Beak of the Finch, winner of both the Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Science. He has written for the New Yorker, the New York Times Magazine, the New Republic and many other newspapers and magazines.