The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters and the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research will host on Sept. 9 a ceremony to honor the 2008 Kavli Prize laureates in the award's inaugural year. Among this year's seven awardees, two Columbia researchers, Thomas Jessel and Louis E. Brus, will be honored for their contributions to nanoscience and neuroscience.

For discoveries on the developmental and functional logic of neuronal circuits, the Kavli Prize in Neuroscience was awarded to Thomas Jessell, Claire Tow Professor in Neuroscience & Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics at the Center for Neurobiology and Behavior, part of the Columbia University Medical Center. Jessell shares the award with Pasko Rakic (Yale) and Sten Grillner (The Karolinska Institute, Sweden).

Columbia researcher Louis E. Brus is the Samuel Latham Mitchell Professor of Chemistry and professor of chemical engineering in the Department of Chemistry at Columbia. Brus shares the award with physicist Sumio Iijima (Meijo University, Japan).

The seven winners, who hail from the United Kingdom, Sweden, the Netherlands, Japan, and the United States, will each receive a scroll and medal and share the $1,000,000 prize awarded under each category.

The event will be held at the Oslo Concert Hall in Norway and will be attended by the laureates, as well as His Royal Highness Crown Prince Haakon of Norway and Fred Kavli, founder of The Kavli Foundation.

The Kavli Prizes recognize scientists for their seminal advances in three research areas: astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience and are awarded every two years. The Kavli Prizes are presented in cooperation with the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research, and the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Top   |    E-mail this story

© Columbia University