Apr. 11, 2000

Winners of Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism, Letters, Drama and Music, Announced Today at the Journalism School

By Kim Brockway and Abigail Beshkin


For distinguished musical composition of significant dimension by an American that has had its first performance in the United States during the year, Five thousand dollars ($5,000).

Awarded to "Life is a Dream, Opera in Three Acts: Act II, Concert Version" by Lewis Spratlan, premiered on January 28, 2000 by Dinosaur Annex in Amherst, MA. Libretto by James Maraniss.

Also nominated as finalists in this category were: "Serenata Concertante" by Donald Martino, premiered on April 19, 1999 at Merkin Concert Hall, New York City, and "contes de feés" by John Zorn, premiered on February 17, 2000 at the Society for Ethical Culture, New York City

The Pulitzer Prize Board made its recommendations when it met at Columbia on April 6 and 7 and passed them to President Rupp. It announced that the presentation of the awards would be made at a luncheon on May 22 at Columbia University.

Louis D. Boccardi, John S. Carroll, Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and Sandra Mims Rowe were re-elected to membership on the board. Seymour Topping was re-elected administrator of the Prizes.

The members of the Pulitzer Prize Board are: President Rupp; Andrew Barnes, editor, president and C.E.O., St. Petersburg Times; Louis D. Boccardi, president and chief executive officer, Associated Press; Joann Byrd, editor of the editorial page, Seattle Post-Intelligencer; John S. Carroll, editor and senior vice president, The Baltimore Sun; John L. Dotson, Jr., president and publisher, Akron Beacon Journal; Jack Fuller, president, Tribune Publishing Company; Henry Louis Gates, Jr., W.E.B. DuBois Professor of Humanities, Harvard University; Tom Goldstein, dean, Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University; Doris Kearns Goodwin, historian and biographer; Donald E. Graham, publisher, The Washington Post; William B. Ketter, chairman, journalism department, Boston University; Rena Pederson, vice president/editorial page editor, The Dallas Morning News; Mike Pride, editor, Concord (NH) Monitor; Sandra Mims Rowe, editor, The Oregonian; William Safire, columnist, The New York Times; Edward Seaton, editor in chief, Manhattan (Kan.) Mercury; Paul Steiger, managing editor, The Wall Street Journal; and Seymour Topping, administrator of the Prizes.

In any category in which board members have an interest due to the action of the various nominating juries, those members do not participate in the discussion and voting and leave the room until a decision is reached in the affected category. Similarly, members of nominating juries do not participate in the discussion of or voting on entries in which they have an interest.