Office of Public Information and Communications
Columbia University
New York, N.Y.   10027
(212) 854-5573

Fred Knubel, Director of Public Information
For Use Upon Receipt

Columbia Scientists Win Sloan Fellowships

Three Columbia University faculty members are among 100 outstanding young scientists named to receive Sloan Research Fellowships.

Marc Paul Kamionkowski, assistant professor of physics; Zlil Sela, associate professor of mathematics; and Rafael Yuste, assistant professor of biological sciences, will each receive grants of $35,000 over two years to support research in their fields.

Professor Kamionkowski is a specialist in theoretical particle physics and astrophysics. Professor Sela studies hyperbolic geometry, topology and group theory. Professor Yuste is a neuroscientist engaged in research on the development and function of the cortical microcircuitry.

The Columbia researchers are among faculty from 54 colleges and universities in the United States and Canada selected to receive Sloan Fellowships. The program was created in 1955 to support research by promising scientists early in their careers. Nineteen former Sloan Fellows have received Nobel prizes. With the current awards, the foundation has awarded over $72 million for support of more than 3,100 young researchers.

Professor Darcy B. Kelley, a Columbia neuroscientist, is a member of the committee of 18 distinguished scientists who reviewed this year's 400 nominees for the fellowships. Candidates are nominated by department chairs and other senior scholars.