Contact:	Fred Knubel	
		Director of Public Information
		212-854-5573,		FOR IMMEDIATE USE
									August 4, 1997

All Pulitzer Prizes Are Now On Line

_________________________ New Website Lists Winners from 1917 to Present
For the first time, all the Pulitzer Prizes awarded since the first in 1917 are on line, on the Web at The redesigned website, offered by the Columbia Journalism Review and the Center for New Media of Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism, provides a complete database, with sound and pictures, listing all Pulitzer recipients in journalism, letters, drama and music in the prizes' 81 years. Included are descriptions of all award-winning work in journalism and, for the past three years, the texts of articles, winning cartoons, photographs and the names of the judges. Users can also hear excerpts of the three musical compositions that won since 1995. The site is fully searchable by year, name of prize category, winner, newspaper, book, play, composition or words of an award description. All the prizes given in any one year can be summoned by a single click on the site's special Timeline feature. "There is a very broad interest in the Pulitzer Prizes," said Seymour Topping, administrator of the prizes, "and we're trying to reach the general public and the journalism community with this more concise and efficient presentation of the data. We would like the actual works, which represent the best in the profession, to be seen by all." The archive was created, with support from CJR, by Danielle Fino and John McGrath, recent graduates, and Andrew Lih of the Center for New Media. The Prizes are awarded annually by Columbia University on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board. Columbia Journalism Review, published bimonthly by the Graduate School of Journalism, is the nation's monitor of print, broadcast and online news. It can be reached on the Web at 8.4.97 19,169