Cells of the Nervous System

The nervous system is made up of two types of cells: neurons and glia.


Neurons are the fundamental cellular unit of the central nervous system (CNS) and peripheral nervous system (PNS)

Essential features of neurons:

There are 3 main types of neurons:

Neurons are divided into three parts: dendrites, soma, and axon:

Neurons have different shapes:


Glia, short for neuroglial cells, provide support to the nervous system:

The different types of glia: