Go to Columbia Web

Record Banner
 VOL. 23, NO. 21APRIL 17, 1998 


  • Three Columbia professors have won 1998 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowships, awarded on the basis of unusually impressive achievement in the past and exceptional promise for future accomplishment. They are: Kathy Eden, professor of English and comparative literature; Teodolinda Barolini, professor of Italian, and Michael T. Taussig, professor of anthropology.

  • Susan A. Wilt, who received her doctorate in public health from Columbia’s School of Public Health in 1985, received the first annual Public Health Achievement Award from Columbia and the New York City Department of Health in a ceremony at the department’s headquarters on Apr. 8. Wilt, who is director of epidemiology and surveillance of the Injury Prevention Program of the Department of Health, was honored for her contributions to advance the field of violence prevention and her commitment to the health of the people of New York City.

  • Herbert J. Gans, Robert S. Lynd Professor of Sociology, was recently elected an honorary member of the German Sociological Association.

  • Howard B. Lieberman, associate professor of radiation oncology in the Center for Radiological Research, will serve as chair of the National Institutes of Health Radiation Study Section for two years, beginning July 1.

  • Two administrators in Student Services last week announced their pending departures: University Registrar Joseph Capobianco and Student Financial Services Executive Director Kate Wilson will leave Columbia at the end of the semester. Capobianco will become registrar at his alma mater, St. John’s in Queens. Wilson will move to Cambridge, Mass., where she will continue working in higher education.

      “Whether the implementation of telephone registration for Joe or the development of a new financial organization in SFS for Kate, they both can feel proud of the legacies they leave at Columbia; we will miss them and the talents and dedication they brought to the University,” said Vice President for Student Services Mark Burstein. Joe Ienuso, director of finance and administration for Students Services, has been named acting registrar. Jim Tilton, director for student financial planning, has been named acting director for Student Financial Services.