J-School Grads Awarded 4 of 14 Pulitzer Prizes

Photograph: Jim Dwyer.
Photograph: Tony Horwitz.
Photograph: Margo Jefferson.
Photograph: Ron Suskind.

Four of the 14 Pulitzer Prizes in journalism this year were won by graduates of the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism, further proof of the school's first rank in training professional journalists:

Jim Dwyer, Class of '80, won the Pulitzer for commentary for his "compelling and compassionate columns about New York City" for Newsday.

Margo Jefferson, Class of '71, now the Sunday drama critic for The New York Times, won for her book reviews and cultural criticism for that newspaper.

Two of the winners, Tony Horwitz and Ron Suskind, both members of the Class of '83, also both work for the same newspaper, The Wall Street Journal. Horwitz won in national reporting, for his series about working conditions in low-wage America. Suskind won the award in feature writing for stories about the determination of inner-city honor students in Washington, D.C., to survive and succeed.

Other winners in the 79th annual Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism, Letters, Drama and Music, awarded on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board, and announced Apr. 18 by President Rupp:

The Pulitzer Prize Board made its recommendations when it met at Columbia on Apr. 13 and 14 and passed them to President Rupp. Formal presentation of the awards will be made at a luncheon on campus May 22.

Geneva Overholser and Edward Seaton were re-elected to membership on the board. Seymour Topping was re-elected administrator of the Prizes.

The members of the Pulitzer Prize Board are Rupp; Joan Konner, dean, Graduate School of Journalism (ex-officio); Louis D. Boccardi, president and chief executive officer, Associated Press; Sissela Bok, writer and philosopher; John S. Carroll, editor and senior vice president, The Baltimore Sun; John L. Dotson Jr., president and publisher, Akron Beacon Journal; John S. Driscoll, visiting scholar, MIT; Jack Fuller, president and publisher; Chicago Tribune; Meg Greenfield, editorial page editor, The Washington Post (co-chairman); Peter R. Kann, chairman and chief executive officer, Dow Jones and Co., Inc.; Burl Osborne, editor and publisher, The Dallas Morning News (co-chairman), and Geneva Overholser, former editor, The Des Moines Register.

Also, James V. Risser, director; John S. Knight Fellowships, Stanford; Sandra Mims Rowe, editor, The Oregonian; Walter Rugaber, president and publisher, Roanoke (Va.) Times & World-News; Edward Seaton, editor in chief, Manhattan (Kan.) Mercury; Helen Vendler, Porter University professor, Harvard; and Marilyn Yarbrough, associate provost and professor of law, University of North Carolina, and Seymour Topping, administrator of the Prizes.

Columbia University Record -- April 28, 1995 -- Vol. 20, No. 26