Go to Columbia Web

Record Banner
 VOL. 23, NO. 13JANUARY 30, 1998 



  • Two Columbia scientists, Wayne A. Hendrickson and Walter C. Pitman III, have won National Academy of Sciences awards for their research.

      Hendrickson, professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics at Columbia’s College of Physicians & Surgeons, will receive the Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics.

      Pitman, senior research scientist at Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, will receive the Academy’s Alexander Agassiz Medal “for his fundamental contribution to the plate tectonic revolution through insightful analysis of marine magnetic anomalies and causes and effects of sea level changes.”

  • Judith Jones, clinical professor of public health, is the director of Free to Grow: Head Start Partnerships to Promote Substance-Free Communities at the School of Public Health. The program recently received a grant of almost $560,000 from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation for a year of continued support.


  • Four Columbians are among the winners of 1997-98 Fulbright awards to lecture, consult or conduct research abroad. They are: Ari L. Goldman, assistant professor of journalism, Israel; David Zudkevitch, adjunct professor of engineering, Hungary; Kathryn M. Gregory, associate research scientist, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Bolivia, and Glenda G. Rosenthal, director and adjunct professor in the Institute on Western Europe, Belgium.

  • University Chaplain Jewelnel Davis recently received an alumni Distinguished Service award from Yale. Davis, who received her M.Div. from Yale Divinity School, was recognized for her achievements in teaching and the ministry.


  • Robert Hodrick, the Nomura Professor of International Finance, has been named academic director of the Jerome A. Chazen Institute of International Business and chairman of the Chazen Faculty Committee in Columbia Business School.

  • The husband and wife research team of Patrick S. Moore, an epidemiologist at the School of Public Health, and Yuan Chang, a neuropathologist at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, won the 1997 Meyenburg Prize for their pioneering research of human herpesvirus 8 and its role in the pathogenensis of Kaposi’s sarcoma. With the KS discovery, the Columbia scientists found one to the few viruses linked to cancer in humans.

  • Joseph Bertolino, Barnard’s director of college activities, received the 1997 Outstanding Campus Activities Professional Award from the National Association of Campus Activities’ eastern region.