Go to Columbia Web

Record Banner
VOL. 23, NO. 2September 12, 1997

People: Gee, Freedberg, Axel, Ragusa, Bertin, Hibbard, Edwards

  • Beginning his first academic year as president of Brown is alumnus E. Gordon Gee, a Utah native who holds two degrees from Columbia: law ('71) and education ('72). Gee has previously been president of West Virginia University, the University of Colorado and Ohio State.

  • David Freedberg, professor of art history, has been elected to the American Philosophical Society, the nation's oldest learned society. He is the author of numerous books and articles about Peter Paul Rubens, Dutch landscape prints, seventeenth-century art, and other subjects. Freedberg joined Columbia in 1986.

  • Richard Axel, Higgins Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biopathology and professor of pathology, has been named a winner of the 1997 Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Research. He and Linda Buck of Harvard Medical School discovered the multigene family of olfactory receptors.

  • Olga Ragusa, Da Ponte Professor of Italian Emerita, has been given the distinction of "Ufficiale" in the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic by the President of Italy. From 1973 to her retirement in 1992, Ragusa, '54 GSAS, chaired the department of Italian.

  • Joan E. Bertin, clinical professor of public health, has been appointed executive director of the National Coalition Against Censorship, where she will deal with an issue that she says "represents substantial tension in this society, which is dedicated to First Amendment freedoms but still has major disagreements over how those freedoms should be expressed."

  • John Hibbard, GSAS'95, astrophysics, has won the Astronomical Society of the Pacific's annual Trumpler Award for his dissertation on galactic dynamics. The award, given annually to a recent Ph.D. whose research is considered unusually important to astronomy, was presented this summer at the Society's scientific meeting in Chicago.

  • Sian Edwards, an M.F.A. candidate in the School of the Arts Film Division, has been named the second annual recipient of the Arthur Krim Memorial Scholarship. She will receive more than $4,000 from the endowment named in honor of the producer, who was an alumnus and Trustees chairman. The scholarship was created by Annette Insdorf, former chair of the Film Division, and producer Norman Lear. Edwards was selected by the division's producing faculty.