Go to Columbia Web

Where to Find It

The University Trustess Web is available on the Administration and Index pages of ColumbiaWeb.

Record Banner
 VOL. 23, NO. 20APRIL 10, 1998 

Eight New Professorships Created by Columbia Trustees

The University Trustees at their recent meeting, approved the creation of eight new full professorships. They are:

  • The Lisa and Bernard Selz Professorship of Pre-Columbian Art History and Archaeology in the Faculty of the Arts and Sciences, named for Bernard Selz, CC ‘60, who has been involved in investment banking throughout his career.

  • The Edward W. Rickert Professorship of Economics in the Faculty of the Arts and Sciences. Rickert, an investment consultant who received the B.A. from the College in 1936, is a former member of the Board of Visitors and a trustee of the C.U. Press.

  • The Walter O. LeCroy Professorship of Physics in the Faculty of the Arts and Sciences. LeCroy, who graduated from the College in 1956 with a degree in physics is chairman of the LeCroy Corp., a firm he established in 1963 to design and manufacture scientific research equipment.

  • The Stanley Dicker Professorship of Biomedical Engineering and Applied Science in the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science. Dicker pursued graduate studies in mechanical engineering at Columbia, receiving a Eng. Sc.D. degree in 1961. He is the co-owner and executive director of the Hillside Manor Nursing Home.

  • The Justin W. D’Atri Visiting Professorship of Law, Business and Society in the Faculty of Law. The Renco Group Inc. made the gift in honor of Justin D’Atri, a 1949 graduate of the College and a 1951 graduate of the School of Law. D’Atri was secretary, director and legal counsel at Renco. He now is of counsel to the firm.

  • The Evan M. Frankel Clinical Professorship of Environmental Law in the Faculty of Law, named for the late Evan M. Frankel by the trustees of the foundation which he established in 1978. Frankel was a Manhattan builder.

  • The James G. McMurtry Professorship of Neurological Surgery in the Faculty of Medicine. The principal donors are Mr. and Mrs. Edward Yawney, Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Gallen and Cecilia Bartoli. McMurtry has been professor of clinical neurological surgery and course director for neurological surgery since 1989.

  • The Alfred W. Bressler Professorship of Law in the Faculty of Law. Bressler received his L.L.B. degree from Columbia in 1927 and has spent his career with the law firm of Moses & Singer, serving as managing partner and now as senior partner.