Record Banner
Vol.25, No. 08 Nov. 12, 1999


Ponisseril Somasundaran, the La von Duddleson Krumb Professor of Engineering, has been conferred a Foreign Fellowship to the Indian National Academy of Engineering. The award is considered India's highest honor in the field of engineering. A member of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences faculty since 1970, and currently the director of the National Science Foundation's IUCR Center for Advanced Studies in Surfactants, Somasundaran joins only 9 other foreign fellows on the Academy's roll. He will be traveling to India in August of 2000 to participate in a formal induction ceremony.

Larry Dais, assistant vice president for community affairs, received special recognition from the Greater Harlem Chamber of Commerce and The New York Times at the 25th Anniversary Celebration of Harlem Week held last month in the Times executive dining room. Dais received the 1999 National Education Achievement Award.

Andrei Serban has been honored by the Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers with the prestigious "George Abbott Award" at the SSD&C's Gala "Twentyone for the 21st". The evening, co-chaired by Joy Abbott, Gwen Verdon and Andrew Lloyd Weber, honored the exemplary achievements of 21 theater artists who have made a major impact on the theater during the 20th century. Serban is director of Columbia's Oscar Hammerstein II Center and Professor in the School of the Arts Theater Division.

University Professor Edward W. Said received honorary doctorates last spring from the American University in Cairo and the National University of Ireland in Galway.

The Association of American Medical Colleges and the Pfizer Medical Humanities Initiative named Columbia's Dr. Steven Z. Miller a physician role model. He was nominated for the recognition by medical students.