Record Banner
Vol.25, No. 18 Mar. 31, 2000


John Corigliano, CC'59, won the Oscar in the Best Original Score category for his work on the movie The Red Violin. Corigliano's music for orchestra, chamber ensemble, the opera and films has garnered him a leading place among his generation's composers.

Gauri Viswanathan, professor of English and comparative literature, won the 2000 Ananda K. Coomaraswamy Prize from the South Asia Council of the Association for Asian Studies for Outside the Fold: Conversion, Modernity, and Belief (Princeton U. Press, 1998). The author was cited for making an "enduring contribution to our understanding of religious traditions, the politics of conversion, and the multiple projects of modernity."

Columbia's student-athletes named to the Academic All-Ivy roster for fall 1999 are: in football, Mike Glynn, CC'00; Neal Kravitz, CC'00; in men's soccer, Leslie Fitzpatrick, CC'01; Matt Hill, CC'01; Jesse Leff, CC'00; in women's soccer, Rose Francis, CC'00; Rachel Robertson, CC'00; in women's cross country, Kara Kerr, CC'00; in volleyball, Rachel Miller, CC'01; in field hockey, Cameo Roehrich, CC'02.

To be eligible for the Academic All-Ivy roster, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.0 grade-point average and have started or been a key reserve on a varsity team. Each of the eight Ivy schools nominates five men and five women for the honor after each of the three seasons for collegiate sports.

Anthony Kling, CC'90 and MBA'93, is the executive producer of " Muscle Beach," a first-of-its-kind episodic television series on the Internet. The show debuted worldwide on March 23 at www.televisioninter-