Record Banner
Vol.26, No. 04 Sept. 25, 2000

Famed Radcliffe Publishing Course Relocates to Columbia School of Journalism

By Kim Brockway

Tom Goldstein, dean of Columbia’s Graduate School of Journalism, and Mary Maples Dunn, acting dean of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard, announced on Sept. 25 that the prestigious Radcliffe Publishing Course will be relocating to the Columbia Journalism School. The intensive, six-week summer program is considered to be the preeminent course in the publishing world.

"This venerable program is a wonderful fit for our school," said Goldstein. "It capitalizes on the school’s strengths, particularly the Delacorte Magazine Center, while pointing us in important new directions."

The Radcliffe Publishing Course was established in 1947 at Radcliffe College in Cambridge, Mass. In 1999, Radcliffe formally merged with Harvard University to create the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study—a major center for interdisciplinary research.

"Moving the Radcliffe Publishing Course to Columbia is quite serendipitous," said Dunn. "A school of journalism offers the Publishing Course a multitude of exciting opportunities. And what better place to locate the world’s best publishing course than New York?"

"The Radcliffe Publishing Course was born and grew up in Cambridge, and now it is time to move, carrying its maiden name and the anticipation and joy of a new future at Columbia University," said Lindy Hess, the director of the Publishing Course. "I believe all involved will thrive. I think this move is in the best interest of the publishing community and its future leaders."

Over the past 53 years, the Radcliffe Publishing Course has instructed more than 4,000 women and men who have gone on to become leaders in the publishing industry. Some of the Course’s notable graduates include Victor Navasky, publisher, The Nation; Jordan Pavlin, senior editor, Alfred A. Knopf; Morgan Entrekin, publisher Grove Atlantic; Dominique Browning, editor-in-chief, HG; David Granger, editor-in-chief, Esquire; and Arthur Levine, Scholastic’s editor of J.K. Rowling. Under Hess’ leadership, the course has been taught each summer by over 100 of the most prominent figures in book, magazine and electronic publishing.

The Radcliffe Institute and Columbia have agreed that the Radcliffe name will continue to be associated with the Publishing Course for the next two years.

"We are delighted that Lindy Hess will be joining the Columbia community and continuing to direct the Course," added Goldstein. "In the past several years, our school has developed a heightened appreciation of the close link of book publishing to journalism, in large part through the great success of professor Sam Freedmans course on non-fiction writing. I am sure that adding the Radcliffe summer program will build on our strengths and lead to exciting new possibilities."

Columbia’s Graduate School of Journalism was founded in 1912 and offers programs leading to a master’s of science and a doctorate in journalism. The School also runs the Knight-Bagehot Fellowship Program in Economics and Business Journalism and the National Arts Journalism Program for working journalists, and administers some of the most prestigious prizes in journalism, including the Pulitzer Prizes; the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize; the National Magazine Awards; the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes; the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards in television and radio journalism and the Alfred Eisenstaedt awards for magazine photography.