CU Home
Home
About the Society
Fellowship Competition
Calendar of Events
Current Fellows
Alumni Fellows
Governing Board
Contact Us

Alumni Fellows

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


A

Molly Aitken (00–02)
Art History
Independent Scholar
Montclair, NJ
mollyemma@msn.com

Michael Allan (08–09)
Comparative Literature
University of Oregon
mallan@uoregon.edu

April Alliston (88–89)
Comparative Literature
Princeton University
alliston@princeton.edu

Michael Anderson (94–96)
Classics
Trinity College
Michael.Anderson.2@trincoll.edu

Richard Andrews (85–88)
Deceased

Karl Appuhn (99–01)
History
New York University
appuhn@nyu.edu

Andrew Apter (87–89)
Director, James S. Coleman African Studies Center
Professor, Departments of History and Anthropology
University of California, Los Angeles
aapter@history.ucla.edu

Back to top

B

Jordanna Bailkin (99–01)
History
University of Washington
bailkin@u.washington.edu

Jeffrey M. Bale (94–96)
Senior Researcher
Terrorism Research & Studies Program
Monterey Institute of International Studies
jeffrey.bale@miis.edu

Hilary Ballon (85–86)
Architecture and Urban Studies
New York University
hillary.ballon@nyu.edu

Jeffrey Barash (83–85)
University of Picardie
Amiens, France
jeffrey.barash@u-picardie.fr

Amy Bard (02–04)
African & Asian Languages &
Literatures
University of Florida
amybard@ufl.edu
past lecture

Robert Bauslaugh (79–81)
Ancient History & Classics
Brevard College
bauslaugh@brevard.edu

Sandrine Bertaux (02–04)
Political Science & International Relations
Marmara University
Istanbul, Turkey
sandrinebertaux@gmail.com
past lecture
past lecture

Giorgio Biancorosso (01–03)
Music Department
University of Hong Kong
Pok Fu Lam, Hong Kong
rogopag@hku.hk
past lecture
past lecture

Akeel Bilgrami (83–85)
Philosophy
Columbia University
ab41@columbia.edu

Beth Bjorklund (82–84)
German
University of Virginia
bbb@virginia.edu

Irene Bloom (76–78)
Deceased

Renate Blumenfeld-Kosinski (81–83)
French & Italian Medieval & Renaissance Studies Program
University of Pittsburgh
renatebk80@gmail.com

Peter K. Bol (80–82)
East Asian Language & Civilization
Harvard University
pkbol@fas.harvard.edu

George Bournoutian (78–80)
History
Iona College
gbournoutian@iona.edu

Betsy C. Bowen (76–77)
Writer, Independent Producer
loonalone@adelphia.net

John Bugg (07–08)
English
Fordham University
bugg@fordham.edu

D. Graham Burnett (97–99)
History
Princeton University
dburnett@princeton.edu

Glenn R. Butterton (86–89)

Back to top

C

Mary Baine Campbell (85–87)
English & American Literature
Brandeis University
campbell@brandeis.edu

David Castriota (82–84)
Art History
Sarah Lawrence College
dcastri@sarahlawrence.edu

William Clark (89–91)

Peter Coclanis (83–84)
History
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
coclanis@unc.edu

Ada Cohen (90–91)
Chair, Art History
Dartmouth College
ada.cohen@dartmouth.edu

James B. Collins (80–82)
History
Georgetown University
collinja@georgetown.edu

Julie Cooper (03–05)
Political Science
University of Chicago
jecooper@uchicago.edu

Jonathan Crary (87–89)
Art History
Columbia University
jkc4@columbia.edu

Brian Curran (96–98)
Art History
Pennsylvania State University
bac18@psu.edu

James R. Currie (00–02)
Music
State University of New York, Buffalo
jcurrie@buffalo.edu
past lecture

Back to top

D

Lorraine Daston (79–80)
Max Plandk Institute for the History of Science
Berlin, Germany
idaston@mpiwg-berlin.mpg.de

Elizabeth Davis (04–06)
Anthropology
Princeton University
ead@princeton.edu

Mary Dearborn (86–88)
Independent Scholar
mvdearborn@earthlink.net

Mark DeBellis (88–90)
Philosophy
Borough of Manhattan Community College, CUNY
mdebellis76@yahoo.com

Vidya Dehejia (84–86)
Barbara Stoler Miller Chair
Art History & Archaeology
Columbia University
vd2@columbia.edu

Wiebke Denecke (04–06)
Comparative Literature
Boston University
denecke@bu.edu

Naomi Diamant (92–94)
Director, Dean's Office Affairs
Stern School of Business
New York University
ndiamant@stern.nyu.edu

Deborah Diamond (94–96)
Director of Research
Greater Philadelphia Tourism Corporation
deborah@gptmc.com

Mary Dillard (00–01)
History
Sarah Lawrence College
mdillard@sarahlawrence.edu

Adrienne Donald (92–93)
Hunter Advisors
adonald@hunterac.com

Greg Downey (98–00)
Anthropology
Macquarie University
Sydney, Australia
greg.downey@scmp.mq.edu.au

Laura Lee Downs (87–88)
Director of Studies
Centre de Recherches Historique
Paris, France
downs@ehess.fr

Laurence Dreyfus (79–81)
Music
Magdalen College
Oxford University
laurence.dreyfus@magd.ox.ac.uk

Joshua Dubler (08-11)
University of Rochester
dubler.joshua@gmail.com

Back to top

E

Heather Ecker (00–02)
Head of Curatorial Affairs
International Museum Programme
Aga Khan Foundation Canada
heather.ecker@akdn.org

Back to top

F

Maria Farland (98–00)
English
Fordham University
Constantin Fasolt (81–83)
History
University of Chicago
icon@uchicago.edu

Ilana Feldman (02–04)
Director, Graduate Studies
Kevorkian Center for Near Eastern Studies
New York University
ilana.feldman@nyu.edu
past lecture
past lecture

Ruben Cesar Fernandes (78–79)

Dana Fields (10–13)
Classics
University of Buffalo
State University of New York
dfields1@buffalo.edu

Joshua Fogel (80–81)
History
York University
fogel@yorku.ca

Doug Frame (80–82)
Center for Hellenic Studies (Washington, D.C.)
Harvard University
frame@fas.harvard.edu

Anne Frydman (77–79)
Deceased

Back to top

G

Jonathan Gilmore (99–01)
Philosophy
Yale University
jonathan.gilmore@yale.edu

Jennifer Greeson (01–03)
English and American
University of Virginia
jrg6k@cms.mail.virginia.edu
past lecture

Back to top

H

James Hankins (83–85)
History
Harvard University
jhankins@fas.harvard.edu

Michele Hannoosh (82–85)
Romance Languages & Literatures
University of Michigan
hannoosh@umich.edu

Daniel Harkett (04–06)
Art History and Archaeology
Rhode Island School of Design
dharkett@risd.edu

Gary Hausman (96–97)
Princeton University Library
gjhausman@gmail.com

Wendy B. Heller (97–98)
Music
Princeton University
wbheller@princeton.edu

James Higginbotham (77–78, 79–80)
Philosophy & Linguistics
University of Southern California
higgy@usc.edu

Anne T. Higgins (90–92)
English
Simon Fraser University
ahiggins@sfu.ca

Victoria Holbrook (85–87)
Independent
vrholbrook@gmail.com

Robert Holzer (90–92)
Music
Yale University
robert.holzer@yale.edu

Norbert Hornstein (80–83)
Linguistics
University of Maryland
nhornste@umd.edu

Alan Houston (88–89)
Political Science
University of California, San Diego
ahouston@ucsd.edu

Don Howard (80–81)
Philosophy
University of Notre Dame
howard.43@nd.edu

David Hoy (81–82)
Director, Graduate Studies
Philosophy
University of California, Santa Cruz
hoy@ucsc.edu

Ronnie Po-chia Hsia (82–84)
History
Pennsylvania State University
rxh46@psu.edu

Back to top

J

Trinity Jackman (04–06)
Royal Ontario Museum
trinityjackman@gmail.com

Sarah Jacoby (06–09)
Religion
Northwestern University
s-jacoby@northwestern.edu

E.H. Rick Jarow (91–93)
(formally Eric Huberman)
Religion, Asian Studies
Vassar College
jarow@vassar.edu

Anning Jing (94–96)
Asian Art
Michigan State University
jinga@msu.edu

Amy E. Johnson (79–81)
amyedithjohnson@gmail.com

David Johnson (79–81)
History
University of California, Berkeley
johnsond@berkeley.edu

Janet Johnson (85–87)
Independent Scholar
jlj738@gmail.com

Judith L. Johnston (77–79)
English
Rider University
johnston@rider.edu

Dalia Judovitz (81–82)
French & Italian
Emory University
djudovi@emory.edu

Back to top

K

Jonathon Kahn (03-05)
Religion
Vassar College
jokahn@vassar.edu

Paize Keulemans (05–06)
East Asian Languages and Literatures
Yale University
paize.keulemans@yale.edu

Muhammad Ali Khalidi (91–93)
Philosophy
York University
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
khalidi@yorku.ca

Dilwyn Knox (85–87)
Italian
University College London
London, United Kingdom
d.knox@ucl.ac.uk

Hagar Kotef (09–12)
Politics and Government
Ben Gurion University
Israel
hagarko@gmail.com

David Kurnick (06–07)
English
Rutgers University
david.kurnick@rutgers.edu

Back to top

L

Guolong Lai (02–04)
School of Art & Art History
University of Florida
gllai@ufl.edu
past lecture

Vinay Lal (92–94)
History
University of California, Los Angeles
vlal@history.ucla.edu

Kevin Lamb (07–10)
School of Law
Yale University
kevin.lamb@yale.edu

Robert Lamberton (84–86)
Classics
Washington University in St. Louis
rdlamber@artsci.wustl.edu

Richard Landes (84–86)
Director, Center for Millennial Studies
History
Boston University
rlandes@bu.edu

Charles Larmore (78–80)
Philosophy
Brown University
charles_larmore@brown.edu

Susan Layton (81–83)
Russian Literature
Visiting Scholar
University of Edinburgh
susan.layton50@gmail.com

Andrew Lear (04–06)
Classics
Florida State University
alear@fsu.edu

Daniel Lee (10–11)
Political Theory
University of Toronto
daniellee.lee@utoronto.ca

Rebecca M. Lesses (96–98)
Jewish Studies
Ithaca College
rlesses@ithaca.edu

Theodore Levin (79–81)
Music
Dartmouth College
Theodore.C.Levin@dartmouth.edu

Robin Lewis (78–81)
Social Development and Public Policy
Beijing Normal University
Beijing, China
robin@worldviewglobal.com

Conrad Leyser (92–94)
History
Worcester College, University of Oxford
United Kingdom
conrad.leyser@worc.ox.ac.uk

Suzanne Lodato (98–00)
Research Development Specialist
Indiana University
smlodato@indiana.edu

Marie-Rose Logan (76–78)
European & Comparative Literature
Soka University of America
mlogan@soka.edu

John Lombardini (09–10)
Government
College of William and Mary
jlombardini@wm.edu

Paul D Lyon (80–81)
Philosophy
University of Texas, Austin
plyon@la.utexas.edu

Back to top

M

David A.J. Macey (76–78)
Deceased

Myron Magnet (77–79)
Editor, City Journal
Manhattan Institute
communications@manhattan-institute.org

Susan Manning (87–88)
English
Northwestern University
s-manning@northwestern.edu

Joseph Masheck (76–78)
Fine Arts
Hofstra University
joseph.d.mascheck@hofstra.edu

Richard McCoy (77–79)
English
Queens College
City University of New York
rmccoy@gc.cuny.edu

Darrin M. McMahon (97–99)
History
Florida State University
dmcmahon@mailer.fsu.edu

Cecilia Miller (89–91)
History
Wesleyan University
cmiller@wesleyan.edu

Larry Miller (84–86)

Nancy Miller (76–78)
Comparative Literature
Graduate Center
City University of New York
nancykmiller@nyc.rr.com

Amira Mittermaier (06–07)
Religion
University of Toronto
Toronto, Canada
amira.mittermaier@utoronto.ca

Scott Morrison (04–06)
smsmorrison@gmail.com

Marjorie Munsterberg (84–86)
mmunsterberg@gmail.com
Christian Murck (78–80)
President
American Chamber of Commerce in China
cmurck@amchamchina.org

Liam Murphy (90–92)
Law & Philosophy
New York University
murphyl@juris.law.nyu.edu

Back to top

N

Suzanne Nalbantian (76–78)
English and Comparative Literature
Long Island University
rey.sn@juno.com

Jennifer Nash (09–10)
American Studies
George Washington University
jennash@gwu.edu

John Nassivera (77–79)
Theater, Speech
Green Mountain College
JohnNassivera@hotmail.com

Gulru Necipoglu (86–87)
History of Art & Architecture
Harvard University
agakhan@fas.harvard.edu

Deborah Epstein Nord (80–82)
English
Princeton University
dnord@ariel.princeton.edu

Calvin Normore (83–84)
Philosophy
University of California, Los Angeles
cnormore@ucla.edu

David Novak (07–10)
Music
University of California, Santa Barbara
dnovak@music.ucsb.edu

Back to top

O

Emily Ogden (10–13)
English
University of Virginia
Emily.ogden@virginia.edu

Irina Oryshkevich (03-05)
Art History and Archaeology
Columbia University
ito1@columbia.edu

Jessie A. Owens (77–79)
Dean, Division of Humanities, Arts and Cultural Studies
University of California, Davis
jaowens@ucdavis.edu

Back to top

P

Esther Pasztory (80–82)
Art History & Archaeology
Columbia University
ep9@columbia.edu

David L. Pike (93–95)
Literature
American University
dpike@american.edu

Hilary Poriss (01–03)
Music
Northeastern University
h.poriss@neu.edu
past lecture

Linda Przybyszewski (95–97)
History
University of Notre Dame
linda.przybyszewski.1@nd.edu

Back to top

Q

Eloise Quiñones-Keber (84–86)
Art History
Graduate Center and Baruch College
City University of New York

Back to top

equinones-keber@gc.cuny.edu

R

Ann Ramsey (91–92)

John Rogers (89–90)
English
Yale University
john.rogers@yale.edu

Mark Rollins (85–87)
Chair, Philosophy
Washington University in St. Louis
mrollins@artsci.wustl.edu

Back to top

S

Peter Sahlins (87–88)
History
University of California, Berkeley
sahlins@socrates.berkeley.edu

Edgardo Salinas (10–13)
Music
Columbia University
Humanities and Arts
Universidad Nacional de Rosario
Argentina
Ers2102@columbia.edu

Scott A. Sandage (95–96)
History
Carnegie Mellon University
sandage@andrew.cmu.edu

Claudio M. Saunt (96–98)
History
University of Georgia
csaunt@uga.edu

Martha Porter Saxton (88–90)
Women's & Gender Studies
Amherst College
msaxton@amherst.edu

Kirsten Schultz (99–99)
History
Seton Hall University
kirsten.schultz@shu.edu

Micah J. Schwartzman (06–07)
Law
University of Virginia
schwartzman@virginia.edu

Martha Ann Selby (87–88)
(Hinduja Fellow)
South Asian Studies
University of Texas, Austin
ms@uts.cc.utexas.edu

Richard Serrano (96–98)
French
Rutgers University
rserrano@rci.rutgers.edu

Pavlos Sfyroeras (92–94)
Classics
Middlebury College
psfyroer@middlebury.edu

William Sharpe (81–83)
English
Barnard College
wsharpe@barnard.edu

Andrey Shcherbenok (06–09)
Russian and Slavonic Studies
St. Petersburg State University
shcherbenok@gmail.com

Samer S. Shehata (99–00)
Center for Contemporary Arab Studies
Georgetown University
sss32@georgetown.edu

April Shelford (97–99)
History
American University
shelfor@american.edu

Leo K. Shin (95–97)
Asian Studies
University of British Columbia
Vancouver, Canada leo.shin@interchange.ubc.ca

Susan Sidlauskas (90–92)
Art History
Rutgers University
sidlausk@rci.rutgers.edu

Paul Silverman (86–88)

Patrick Singy (07–10)
Center for Bioethics
Union Graduate College
pbsingy@gmail.com

Laura M. Slatkin (81–83)
Gallatin School of Individualized Study
New York University
laura.slatkin@nyu.edu

Will Slauter (07–09)
Intellectual History
University of Paris VIII - Saint-Denis
adsmit@sas.upenn.edu

Adam Smith (09–12)
East Asian Languages and Civilizations
University of Pennsylvania
wslauter@univ-paris8.fr

Robert Stillman (80–82)
English
University of Tennessee
rstillma@utk.edu

Ginger Strand (93–95)
strand@gmail.com

Yanfei Sun (10–13)
Sociology
Tsinghua University, China
yanfei.sun@gmail.com

Mark Swislocki (01–03)
History
New York University
mark.swislocki@nyu.edu
past lecture

Back to top

T

Jean Terrier (04–06)
jean.terrier@ici-berlin.org

Miriam Ticktin (02–04)
Anthropology and International Affairs
School for Social Research
ticktinm@newschool.edu
past lecture
past lecture

Barbara Tischler (83–85)
Barbara_Tischler@horacemann.org

John Tresch (00–02)
History & Sociology of Science
University of Pennsylvania
jtresch@sas.upenn.edu
past lecture

Back to top

V

Joanne van der Woude (07–08)
American Studies
University of Groningen, the Netherlands
Joanne.van.der.Woude@rug.nl

Kate Van Orden (96–97)
Music
University of California, Berkeley
vanorden@calmail.berkeley.edu

Carl Franciscus Verellen (87–89)
Director
Ecole francaise d'Extreme-Orient
franciscus.verellen@efeo.net

Gauri Viswanathan (86–88)
English & Comparative Literature
Columbia University
gv6@columbia.edu

Back to top

W

Joanna Waley-Cohen (88–90)
History
New York University
joanna.waleycohen@nyu.edu

Leonard Wallock (82–84)
Associate Director
Walter H. Capps Center for the Study of Religion & Public Life
leonard.wallock@cappscenter.ucsb.edu

Alicyn Warren (93–95)
School of Music
University of Michigan
warrenal@indiana.edu

Anne Waters (95–97)
anne.b.waters@gmail.com

Leah Whittington (98–99)
English
Harvard University
lwhittington@fas.harvard.edu

Steven I. Wilkinson (98–99)
Political Science
Yale University
steven.wilkinson@yale.edu

Back to top

X

Nicholas Xenos (80–82)
Political Science
University of Massachusetts
xenos@polsci.umass.edu

Back to top

Z

Andrew Zimmerman (98–00)
History
George Washington University
azimmer@gwu.edu

Back to top




Society of Fellows, Columbia University
Phone: (212) 854-8443 | Fax: (212) 662-7289 | Email: sof-fellows@columbia.edu
Web site developed by Columbia University Digital Knowledge Ventures