Columbia University

PPC Home
Stated Rules of the A&S Faculty
A&S Faculty Meeting Minutes Faculty Meetings
Letters from the PPC
Classroom Committee Report
ECFAS Archival Documents
A&S Dept. Chairs' terms 2013-2014

EDUCATIONAL Policy and planning committee

The Educational Policy and Planning Committee (EPPC) was established in the spring of 2012 by the Policy and Planning Committee (PPC).  The EPPC is responsible for coordinating the work of the major curriculum committees of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences and for advising and making recommendations to PPC and the Executive Vice President for Arts and Sciences on matters of educational policy and planning.  The committee is composed of the EVP; the Deans of Columbia College, the School of General Studies, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, and the School of Continuing Education, as well as a representative from the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences; the chairs of the committees on the Core Curriculum, the Global Core, and the Committee on Science Instruction; three faculty members appointed by the PPC and three faculty members appointed by the EVP; and three student representatives from Columbia College, General Studies and GSAS.

The EPPC began work in September 2012 under the chairmanship of Susan Pedersen, Professor of History.  In the 2012-13 academic year, the EPPC at the request of Dean James Valentini undertook and completed a review of the first-year science course, Frontiers of Science.  The Committee also worked to facilitate the development of global programs and teaching within Arts and Sciences, establishing a subcommittee on global education that was also asked to serve as the Faculty Advisory Committee to Columbia College’s Office of Global Programs.  In the 2013-14 academic year, the committee expects to continue its work on global education; to keep a watching brief over the Arts and Science’s involvement with online education; and to review, and if possible rationalize, our current practices with regard to course weightings.

The EPPC operates on the assumption that the curriculum is the responsibility of the Arts and Sciences faculty as a whole.  It has used surveys, reports and faculty meetings to gauge faculty views and solicit feedback.  The EPPC reports to the faculty at the outset of every semester about its proposed agenda, and at the end of the year about the status of its work.  The initial PPC memo envisaging the creation of the EPPC, and those letters to the faculty, can be found here:

Founding Memo Spring 2012

1st Faculty Letter Fall 2012

2nd Faculty Letter Spring 2013

3rd Faculty Letter May 2013

4th Faculty Letter Fall 2013

Committee Members 2013-2014:

Committee Chair:
Susan Pedersen, Professor of History

Committee Members (in alphabetical order):
Carlos Alonso, Vice President for Graduate Education, Dean GSAS, Professor of Latin American and Iberian Cultures

Peter Awn, Dean General Studies, Professor of Religion

Kristine Billmyer, Dean School of Continuing Education

Adam Cannon, Lecturer in Discipline, Computer Sciences, School of Engineering & Applied Science

Richard Clarida, Professor of Economics and International and Public Affairs

Marina Cords, COSI Chair, Professor of Ecology, Evolution, and Environmental Biology

Bachir Diagne, Professor of French and Romance Philology

Robert Friedman, Professor of Mathematics

Patricia Grieve, Chair Committee on Global Core, Professor of Latin American and Iberian Cultures

Ido Haimi, Student, General Studies

Margaret Mattes, Student, Columbia College

Matt Jones, Chair Committee on the Core, Professor of History

David Madigan, Executive Vice President for Arts and Sciences, Dean of the Faculty, Professor of Statistics

Cathy Popkin, Professor of Slavic Languages

Lucy Sheehan, Student, Graduate School of Arts & Sciences

Jack Snyder, Chair of PPC, Professor of Political Science

James Valentini, Vice President for Undergraduate Education, Dean Columbia College, Professor of Chemistry

Jacqueline Van Gorkom, Professor of Astronomy

Provostial Faculty Advisory Committee on Online Learning

Members of the Committee (in formation):

David Madigan, Statistics, Committee Chair

Melissa Begg, Public Health

Kristine Billmyer, School of Continuing Education

Adam Cannon, SEAS

Michael Collins, SEAS (teaching Spring 2013 MOOC)

Matt Connelly, History

Don Davis, Economics

Pierre Force, Arts & Sciences

Pat Grieve, Latin America Studies

Eitan Grinspun, SEAS

George M. Hripcsak , Biomedical Informatics

Garud Iyengar, SEAS (teaching Spring 2013 MOOC)

Gita Johar, Business School

Soulaymane Kachani, SEAS

Avery Katz, Law School

Shantanu Lal, College of Dental Medicine

Ellen Meier, Teachers College

Sharyn O'Halloran, SIPA

Cathy Popkin, Slavic Languages

Vincent Racaniello, Microbiology

Assaf Zeevi, Business School


Beryl Abrams, General Counsel's Office

Maneesha Aggarwal, Information Technology

Maurice Matiz, CCNMTL

EPPC Working Group on Curricular Structure:

Adam Cannon, SEAS

Richard Clarida, Economics

Robert Friedman, Mathematics

Matt Jones, History

Susan Pedersen, Chair, History

Cathy Popkin, Slavic Languages

Global Education Subcommittee:

Julie Crawford, English & Comparative Literature

Bachir Diagne, French & Romance Philology

Stathis Gourgouris, Society, Classics & Institute of Comparative Literature

Patricia Grieve, Latin American and Iberian Cultures

Holger Klien, Art History & Archaeology

Don Melnick, CEES/Biology

Christia Mercer, Philosophy

Timothy Mitchell, MESAAS

Pablo Piccato, History

Madeleine Zelin, East Asian Languages & Cultures

Learning Outcomes Subcommittee

Robert Friedman, Mathematics, Subcommittee Chair

Robert Jervis, Political Science

Molly Murray, English and Comparative Literature

Ioannis Mylonopoulos, Art History and Archaeology

Lois Putnam, Psychology

Brent Stockwell, Biological Sciences

Deans and Administrators

Paul McNeil, School of Continuing Education

Fred Palm, Arts and Sciences

Andrea Soloman, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Kathryn Yatrakis, Dean of Academic Affairs, Columbia College

Rose Razaghian, Executive Director, Academic Planning and Analysis, A&S/Columbia College