Columbia University

About Arts and Sciences


Advisory Committees to the Executive Vice President and Dean of the Faculty

Promotion and Tenure Committee

The Executive Vice President for Arts and Sciences depends on a standing committee to conduct an Arts and Sciences level evaluation whenever a department or school recommends a candidate for tenure. The purpose of this evaluation is to assess whether the department or school level review was rigorous and substantive and to ensure that all Arts and Sciences candidates meet the same high standards. In this way, a faculty of the highest quality and distinction will be maintained.

The standing committee – the Promotion and Tenure Committee (PTC) – serves in an advisory capacity to the Executive Vice President who determines whether or not the candidate should be recommended to the Provost for tenure. The Arts and Sciences standing committee is administered on behalf of the Executive Vice President by the Executive Vice Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences.

The PTC consists of nine full professors in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, representing the three divisions, who serve for three year terms. The PTC members are appointed by the Executive Vice in consultation with the Planning and Policy Committee (PPC). The chair of the PTC is appointed by the Executive Vice President in consultation with the PTC.

Academic Review Committee

The Academic Review Committee comprises fifteen faculty members.  The Executive Vice President for Arts and Sciences and Associate Vice President for Arts and Sciences serve ex officio.  There are at least five faculty representatives from each of the three divisions, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Natural Sciences.  The Department of the Arts and the Department of International and Public Affairs each has one faculty representative on the Committee.  The representative from the Department of the Arts is a tenured Professor or a Full Professor of Practice; all other faculty representatives are tenured faculty.  Faculty representatives are appointed by the Executive Vice President for Arts and Sciences, following consultation with Deans, the Steering Committee of the Chairs, and the Executive Committee of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences.

The Academic Review Committee is charged with overseeing the periodic review of all departments, centers, and institutes in the Arts and Sciences.  The principal functions of the review are to assess program quality and effectiveness, to foster planning and improvement, and to provide guidance for administrative decisions.  The process provides an opportunity for critical self-review on a recurring basis and for reevaluating long-range planning assumptions and goals.  By providing a means for reaching collective judgment on the strengths and weaknesses of a program, its comparative advantages, and its future opportunities and challenges, the review process contributes to achieving and maintaining the excellence of programs across the Arts and Sciences.

Members of the committee for 2013-2014:

Social Sciences:
Thomas DiPrete, Chair (Sociology)
Page Fortna (Political Science)
Rashid Khalidi (History/MESAAS)
Claudio Lomnitz (Anthropology)
Michael Ting (Political Science)

Brent Edwards (English)
Carmela Franklin (Classics)
Patricia Kitcher (Philosophy)
Bruce Robbins (English)
Jesus Rodriguez Velasco (Latin American and Iberian Cultures)

Natural Sciences:
Steve Goldstein (DEES)
Richard Friesner (Chemistry)
Kevin Griffin (DEES)
James Manley (Biology
Sarah Woolley (Psychology)

Standing Committee on Language Lecturers

The Standing Committee on Language Lecturers consists of three tenured faculty members and three senior lecturers nominated by the Planning and Policy Committee. The Committee reviews the dossiers of language lecturers in accordance with the Arts and Sciences Guidelines for Review of Full-time Lecturers in Languages and proposals for pedagogical course relief and leave and makes recommendations to the Executive Vice President for Arts and Sciences.