Aung San Suu Kyi (1945 -)

Major Events in the Life of a Revolutionary Leader

Glossary

Anti-Fascist People's Freedom League (AFPFL): Originally a resistance group formed by Aung San to fight the Japanese during World War II, the AFPFL rose to power as a political party when Burma gained its independence from the British in 1948.

Burma Independence Army (BIA): Supplied and trained by the Japanese and led by Burmese nationalist Aung San, this force fought alongside the Japanese when they invaded Burma in 1941. However, when Japanese promises of freedom and independence turned out to be empty, the members of the BIA turned instead to fighting their Japanese occupiers.

National League for Democracy (NLD): This political party was founded in 1988 by Aung San Suu Kyi and other Burmese leaders critical of the one-party military government. In the popular elections held in 1990, the NDL won over eighty percent of seats in parliament. The military government refused to recognize the results.

State Law and Order Restoration Council (SLORC): This military council was created in 1988 and continues to govern Myanmar to this day. It was originally formed to quell anti-government uprisings during the nationwide protests of 1988. In 1997, SLORC renamed itself the State Peace and Development Council (SPDC), but the council remains the same in function and purpose.