CU Home  School of the Arts
Undergraduate Creative Writing Program at Columbia University

MFA Program

Undergraduate Program MFA Program Faculty Courses FAQ  


Benjamin Anastas

Cris Beam

Priscilla Becker

Alexander Chee

Stacey D'Erasmo

Joseph Fasano

Emily Fragos

Ru Freeman

James Hannaham

Margo Jefferson

Heidi Julavits

Sheila Kohler

Dorothea Lasky

Sam Lipsyte

Ben Marcus

Mark Rozzo


Rachel Sherman

Justin Taylor

Justin Torres

Alan Ziegler

The CREATIVE Writing Faculty

The Creative Writing faculty are a distinguished group of writers who actively publish books that have been translated all over the world. Their work regularly appears in such venues as The New Yorker, The New York Times, The London Review of Books, The New Republic, The Paris Review, McSweeney's, Poetry, The Believer, and Bomb. The faculty have been awarded fellowships from the MacArthur Foundation, the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Whiting Foundation, the Ford Foundation, the Rockefeller Foundation, and many other prestigious organizations.

In addition to our full-time faculty, our location in New York city affords us the opportunity to hire accomplished writers on a part-time, adjunct basis, all of whom bring broad literary experience and an extraordinary commitment to the classroom.