Jump to Navigation


2011 Trilling and Van Doren Awards Ceremony

Tuesday, May 3, 2011 - 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Columbia University, Morningside Campus, Low Library, Faculty Room

The Columbia College Student Council's Academic Awards Committee is pleased to announce the 2011 winners of the Mark Van Doren and Lionel Trilling awards.

The 36th annual Lionel Trilling Award will be presented to James Shapiro '77 CC, the Larry Miller Professor of English and Comparative Literature, for his book "Contested Will: Who Wrote Shakespeare?" Professor Shapiro earned a Ph.D. from the University of Chicago in 1982 and has been teaching at Columbia since 1985. In addition to "Contested Will," Professor Shapiro is the author of "1599: A Year in the Life of William Shakespeare," winner of The Theatre Book Prize and BBC Samuel Johnson Prize, and "Oberammergau: The Troubling Story of the World's Most Famous Passion Play." The Trilling Award honors a book from the past year by a Columbia professor that best exhibits the standards of intellect and scholarship found in the work of longtime Columbia faculty member Lionel Trilling '25 CC, '26 GSAS, '38 GSAS, an author and renowned literary critic.

The 50th annual Mark Van Doren Award, which honors a Columbia professor for commitment to undergraduate instruction as well as for "humanity, devotion to truth and inspiring leadership," will be presented to Holger Klein, associate professor of art history and archaeology. Professor Klein earned a Ph.D. from the Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität in 2000 and specializes in Late Antique, Early Medieval and Byzantine art and architecture. He edited the "Kariye Camii Reconsidered" and has published articles in a variety of academic journals. The award is named for Mark Van Doren '21 GSAS, a Pulitzer Prize-winning poet, novelist, literary critic and longtime Columbia faculty member with a reputation for pedagogical greatness.

The professors will be honored on Tuesday, May 3, from 6:30-8:30 p.m. in the Faculty Room of Low Library. All are welcome to attend. Please RSVP.

Categories: Academic