Jump to Navigation


Burma in Transition: Minorities, Human Rights and Democratic Process

Friday, September 14, 2012 - 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Columbia University, Morningside Campus, Low Library Rotunda

Distinguished speakers followed by a roundtable discussion.

Online registration is required. To register please visit click here


Amartya Sen: Nobel Prize in Economics, 1998.

Wakar Uddin: Director General, Arakan Rohingya Union (ARU)-an umbrella of 25 non-governmental organizations and associations that represent the Rohingya minority around the world-and Chairman, Burmese Rohingya Association of North America (BRANA).

T. Kumar: Director, International Advocacy, Amnesty International USA.

Elaine Pearson: Deputy Director, Asia Division, Human Rights Watch.


Nora Rowley: Medical activist of longstanding in Southeast Asia.

Kyi May Kaung: Dissenting artist, award-winning writer of non-fiction, fiction, drama and poetry, doctorate in Political Economy.

Jacques P. Leider: Head, Chiang Mai Center of the École française d'Extrême-Orient (EFEO).

Josef Silverstein: Professor Emeritus, Department of Political Science, Rutgers University, and author, Burmese Politics: The Dilemma of National Unity.

Chris Lewa: Director, The Arakan Project, an NGO based in Asia.

Maung Zarni: Founder, Free Burma Coalition and Fellow, London School of Economics.


Global Cultural Studies
Institute for the Study of Human Rights
Amnesty International USA
Weatherhead East Asian Institute
Visual Arts Program