E4400
E4400: INTRODUCTION TO BIOPHYSICAL MODELING

Instructor: Professor Wiggins, rm 205 S. W. Mudd

Space-time: Mondays+Wednesdays 11-12:15. Location 253 Engineering Terrace (Wednesdays); 214 Mudd (Mondays).

Office hours: by appointment.

URL: http://www.columbia.edu/itc/applied/wiggins/Classes/E4400/Spring2008/

Book: "Quantitative Biology" (Chris Wiggins) (table of contents and manifesto; contact me for the full book) http://q-bio.myftp.org/

Audience: advanced undergraduates and beginning graduate students with some exposure to probability, statistics, dynamical systems, classical mechanics, statistical mechanics, linear algebra. Previous students have come from such departments as APAM, biology, BME, CS, DBMI, EE, physics, ..., and probably several that I'm forgetting and/or don't know about.


  • Lecture 10: Monday, Mar 3, 2008.
  • Lecture 12: Wednesday, Mar 5, 2008.
  • Lecture 13: Monday, Mar 10, 2008.
  • Checkup #3: Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008. (Spring Recess is Mar 17-21)
  • Lecture 14: Monday, Mar 24, 2008.
  • Lecture 15: Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008.
  • 2D dynamical systems
  • HW:
    1. show that (p^2/(K^2+p^2))' evaluated at c~p=K^2+p^2 equals 2/c~(1-p/c~). (c~ is some characteristic concentration)
    2. show that bifurcation of the fixed points occurs when gamma=gamma_c=1/2.
  • Lecture 16: Monday, Mar 31, 2008.
  • Lecture 17: Wednesday, Apr 2, 2008.
  • Lecture 18: Monday, Apr 7, 2008.
  • Lecture 19: Wednesday, Apr 9, 2008.
  • Lecture 20: Monday, Apr 14, 2008.
  • Lecture 21: Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008.
  • Lecture 22: Monday, Apr 21, 2008.
  • Lecture 23: Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008.
  • Lecture 24: Monday, Apr 28, 2008.
  • Lecture 25: Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008.
  • Lecture 26: Monday, May 5, 2008.