Three Confucian Values

Robert Oxnam
President Emeritus, Asia Society

Confucian teaching rests on three essential values: Filial piety, humaneness, and ritual.

Irene Bloom
Wm. Theodore and Fanny Brett de Bary
and the Class of 1941 Collegiate
Professor in Asian Humanities
Columbia University

The Confucian value system may be likened in some ways to a tripod, which is one of the great vessels of the Shang and Zhou Period and a motif that reoccurs in later Chinese arts. You could say of the three legs of the tripod, one is filial devotion, or filial piety. A second is humaneness. A third is ritual or ritual consciousness.