La von Duddleson Krumb Professor
 Director, IUCRC for Advanced Studies in Novel Surfactants
Director, Langmuir Center for Colloids and Interfaces
Columbia University, New York, N.Y. 10027
Phone: (212) 854-2926
FAX: (212) 854-8362
E-mail: ps24@columbia.edu



Professional Experience

Awards, Appointments, and other Recognitions
Reviewing Committees

Research Interests


Professional Experience

Awards and Recognitions

•  Title of Padma Shri by the Indian government, 2010.

•  Member of the Advisory Body of MET’s Engineering College, Mala, India, December 2010.

•  Inducted as a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) at the AIChE Annual Meeting, Nashville TN; November 8-13, 2009.

•  ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry: In recognition of outstanding service as Chair of the 83rd Colloid and Surface Sience Symposium, New York, June 14-19, 2009.

•  Foreign Member of Balkan Academy of Science on Mineral Technologies, Turkey - 2008

•  Engineer of the Year Award, by the Malayalee Engineers Association in North America, Holiday Inn, Rolling Meadows, IL, November 3, 2007.

•  Columbia Alumni Association and Asian Columbia Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Award for outstanding achievements and commitment to Excellence, 2007.

•  AIME Mineral Industry Education Award, 2006.

•  IMPC Steering Committee, sole US representative, Cape Town, South Africa.

•  Keynote lecture at the Centenary of Flotation Symposium, Brisbane, Australia, June 6-9, 2005

•  Invited speaker at the Beijing General Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, Beijing, China, May 17, 2005.

•  Keynote speaker at the Cosmetic and Toiletries Magazine’s 2005 Advanced Technology Conference, Berlin, Germany, April 9-13, 2005

•  Lead-off speaker at the 3rd Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Conference, Mumbai, India, January 7-9, 2005.

•  Plenary lecture at the 10th International Mineral Processing Symposium, Cesme, Turkey, October 7, 2004.

•  Opening keynote lecture: 11th National Conference on Surfactants, emulsions and biocolloids, Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai, India, December 11-13, 2003

•  Distinguished speaker in Metal Science and Engineering, PennStateUniversity, University park, PAApril 22, 2003

•  Appointed Honorary professor at Wuhan Institute of Chemical Technology, July 2001


•  Keynote speaker and honorary Chair of the International Nanomaterials & Nanotechnology Conference in Beijing, China. Also met Chinese President Jiang Zemin, July 2001

•  Elected as foreign member to the RussianAcademy of Natural Sciences, 2000

•  Elected fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering, 1999

•  Foreign Member of Chinese Academy of Engineering, 1998

•  Chairman, Engineering Foundation Board, 1993 - Present

•  Frank F. Aplan Award, Engineering Foundation, 1992.

•  Honorary Research Advisor, Beijing General Research Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, Beijing, China, 1991.

•  The State of New Jersey Senate Leadership Citation, 1991.

•  Plenary Lecture, 119th Annual AIME/SME Meeting, Utah, 1990.

•  Ellis Island Medal of Honor for Distinguished Americans, 1990

•  First Brahm Prakash Chair, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, 1990.

•  Distinguished Alumnus Award, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, 1989.

•  Honorary Professor, Central University of Technology, Changsha, China, 1988-1993

•  Plenary Lecture, XVIth International Mineral Processing Congress, Stockholm, Sweden, 1988.

•  Henry Krumb Lecturer Award, AIME, 1988

•  Honor Award, Association of Indians in America, 1988.

•  Robert Richards Award, Soc. of Min., Met. & Mnrl. Eng., 1987

•  A.E. Taggart Award, Soc. of Min., Met. & Mnrl. Eng., 1987.

•  Award of Excellence, V.H.P. of America, Inc., July, 1987

•  Award for Achievements in Applied Science, 2nd World Malayalam Conference, Washington, D.C., August, 1985

•  National Academy of Engineering Member, 1985

•  Keynote lecture, Colloque-bilan "Interactions Solide-Liquide", Nancy, France, 1984.

•  Plenary lecture (presented in absentia) International Conf. on Recent Advances in Mineral Science and Technology, Johannesburg, 1984.

•  Plenary lecture, Pacific Region Meeting of Fine Particle Society, 1983.

•  Distinguished Member, Soc. of Min., Met. & Mnrl. Engrg., 1983

•  Mill Man of Distinction Award, Soc. of Min., Met. & Mnrl. Eng., 1983

•  Antoine M. Gaudin Award, Soc. of Min., Met. & Mnrl. Eng.,1982

•  Foreign Guest Lecturer at the Rehbinder Symposium, USSRAcademy of Sciences, Moscow, 1981

•  Keynote lecturer at the Intern. Conf. on Complex Sulfides, Rome, 1980

•  Publications Board Award, Soc. of Min., Met. & Mnrl. Eng., 1980

•  Most Distinguished Achievement in Engineering (AINA), 1980

•  Keynote lecturer, Int. Symp. on Resources Engineering, Bombay, 1979

•  Plenary lecturer at the XIII Intern. Mineral Proc. Cong. Warsaw, 1979

•  Soc. of Min., Met. & Mnrl. Eng., Best Presentation Award for the paper, "Stabilization, Flocculation and Selective Flocculation of Mineral Suspensions Using Polymers" by G.C. Sresty, P. Somasundaran, and C.C. Gryte, 1978

•  Opening lecturer, Symp. on Colloid and Surface Chemistry of Mineral Flotation, Melbourne, 1977

•  University of Melbourne Fellowship Award at the School of Chemistry, University of Melbourne, 1977

•  Keynote lecturer at the Conference on Non-Renewable Resources, Bangalore, 1977

•  Prime Minister Nehru Scholarship for higher studies abroad, 1961

•  Tata Educational Award for higher studies, 1961

•  Merit Scholarship from Indian Institute of Science on the basis of rank in a nationally selected class of 24, 1960


Grants and Awards from Department of Energy, National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health, American Iron and Steel Institute, Amoco Production Company, Chevron Oil Field Research Company, Exxon Enterprises, Exxon Research and Engineering, Gulf Research and Development Company, International Nickel Company, Marathon Oil Company, Mobil Development Company, Shell Development Company, Standard Oil of Ohio, Texaco Inc., Union Carbide Corporation, and Union Oil Company.