Columbia University
Information Technology

Component Networks

Networks | Definitions and Terminology | Domain Name Server | FTP
Telnet | E-mail

The Computer + Science Network is an international data communications network that supports research and education. Members of CSNET include universities, colleges, government agencies, non-profit organizations, and industrial research laboratories. CSNET is affiliated with twelve foreign university networks.

CSNET and BITNET are merged into a single organization, CREN, the Corporation for Research and Educational Networking.


The Defense Data Network is a worldwide operational communications network serving the US Department of Defense.


The Energy Sciences Network is a computer data communications network managed and funded by the Department of Energy Office of Energy Research (DOE/OER). ESnet is intended for use by scientific collaborators throughout ER programs. ESnet is installed and operated by the National Energy Supercomputer Center (NERSC), formerly known as the National Magnetic Fusion Energy Computer Center (NMFECC), which is located at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) in California. NERSC provides user services for ESnet.


The NASA Science Internet (NSI) supports scientists and flight projects funded by NASA's Office of Space Science and Applications (OSSA). Users include NASA sites, and government facilities, research, and academic sites conducting NASA-funded research. The NSI is a NASA- wide network with hubs at several NASA centers.


The Terrestrial Wideband Network supports research in high-speed networking, provides connectivity among academic and government sites, and supports a testbed for Internet protocol development and experimentation with applications. It supports a research environment for multimedia conferencing and voice/video conferencing using gateways which use a real-time connection-oriented protocol over a connectionless network.


The National Science Foundation Network is the backbone network of the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF). It interconnects mid-level networks and other resources throughout the United States. The network may be used by researchers in general, according to NSF guidelines.


The Bay Area Regional Research Network is the Northern California regional hub of the NSFNET. BARRNet members include universities, government and private research laboratories, and corporate affiliates.

The California Education and Research Federation Network, CERFnet, is a regional network that operates throughout California. CERFnet membership includes universities, colleges, industrial and government facilities, hospitals, and libraries.


CICNet is a regional network serving a seven-state region of the midwestern United States. It connects the members of the Big Ten and the University of Chicago, as well as corporate and nonprofit organizations.


JvNCnet, the North East Research Regional Network, connects research organizations concentrated in the Northeastern United States, with access to the NSFNET backbone and with international connections to several Scandinavian countries (Norway, Finland, Iceland, Sweden and Denmark), and the United Kingdom.

Los Nettos

Los Nettos is a regional network in the Los Angeles area. It may be used for any educational or research purpose. The member organizations are universities and research laboratories. The Information Sciences Institute (ISI) of the University of Southern California (USC) acts as the agent for Los Nettos.


MichNet is a statewide network operated by Merit. The network plans to reach out beyond Merit's traditional audience of four-year, publically supported colleges and universities in Michigan.


MIDnet is a regional computer network for the seven midwestern states. The network provides researchers access to supercomputers and is a vehicle for exchanging information among researchers.


The Minnesota Regional Network (MRNet) is an NSF regional network which provides communications between the nationwide NSFNET and researchers at the Minnesota Supercomputer Center, the University of Minnesota, and other educational institutions. MRNet also provides NSFNET access to several Minnesota organizations involved in high- technology research.


NCSAnet is a regional supercomputing network that connects university and government research sites primarily located in Illinois, Wisconsin, and Indiana. The NCSAnet private corporate network is national in scale.


The New England Academic and Research Network, NEARnet, is a high-speed network of academic, industrial, government, and nonprofit organizations in New England.


NevadaNet is a state-wide network and currently serves the Desert Research Institute, the University of Nevada, Reno and the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.


NorthWestNet (NWNet) is a mid-level network of the National Science Foundation Network (NSFNET). NWNet provides communication with NSFNET for research centers throughout the Northwest, including sites in Alaska, Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, Oregon, and Washington.


NYSERNet is a midlevel network incorporating corporate, academic, and government institutions.


The Ohio Academic Resources Network is the regional network for the state of Ohio. It serves the entire higher education community.


PSCNET is an NSF-sponsored regional research and education network.


Pennsylvania Research and Economic Partnership Network, PREPnet, is a mid-level network serves Pennsylvania. Organizations operating within Pennsylvania involved in education, research, technology transfer, or the economic development of Pennsylvania participate.


PSINet is a US-based internetwork available throughout the continental US and in Canada, Germany, and Israel. The PSINet operations center is located in Albany NY (another office is located in Santa Clara, California). PSINet provides internetworking services to the NYSERNet user community.


SDSCnet is a network linking academic, industrial, and government affiliates with the San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC), which administers the network, and, by extension, NSFNET.


Sesquinet is a regional network in Texas. Its members include universities, research laboratories, and industrial organizations.


SURAnet is an NSFNET mid-level network. SURAnet's geographic area includes the District of Columbia and thirteen states in the southeast US: Alabama, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia. While SURA, the parent organization, is a consortium of academic organizations, SURAnet members comprise approximately two-thirds academic institutions and one-third non-academic sites.


The Texas Higher Education Network is an NSFNET regional network that covers the state of Texas, with a link to the Instituto Tecnologicoy de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey in Monterrey, Mexico. Network information and operations management are provided through the University of Texas (UT) System Office of Telecommunication Services (OTS).


USAN (University Satellite Network) is a discipline-oriented network serving organizations that do research in the atmospheric and oceanographic sciences. Current members are the Universities of Miami, Oregon State, Penn State, Maryland, Wisconsin, the Institute of Naval Oceanography, the Naval Research Lab, and Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute. The primary use of the network is for access to supercomputer facilities at NCAR; secondary use is for access to the Internet.


The Virginia Education and Research Network is the regional network for the state of Virginia.

Westnet is a regional network with nodes in the states of Arizona, Colorado, southern Idaho, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming. The member organizations are universities, research laboratories, and commercial organizations.