To download a PDF version, click here.

Wei Jiang is Arthur F. Burns Professor of Free and Competitive Enterprise in the Finance and Economics Division, and the Director of Chazen Institute of International Business at Columbia Business School.  She is also a Scholar-in-Residence at Columbia Law School, and a Senior Fellow at the Program on Corporate Governance at Harvard Law School.  Professor Jiang received her B.A. and M.A. in international economics from Fudan University (China), and Ph.D. in economics from the University of Chicago in 2001 after which she joined Columbia Business School.  She has since taught courses in Corporate Finance and Corporate Governance in the Master, MBA/EMBA, or Ph.D. programs at Chicago, Columbia, Wharton, and Berkeley.  She was an investment banking associate at Prudential Securities (Shanghai) before pursuing her Ph.D. degree. 

      Professor Jiang’s main research interest lies in the investment strategies of institutional investors (such as hedge funds and mutual funds) and their role in corporate governance and financial markets. She is a leading scholar on shareholder activism, especially hedge fund activism.  She has published extensively in top finance and law journals, and her research has been frequently featured in major media, including the Wall Street Journal, Economist, Institutional Investors, Money, Fortune, Business Week, New York Times and Financial Times. She received the Smith-Breeden Distinguished Paper Prize from the Journal of Finance, multiple best paper prizes from the Western Finance Association, Chicago Quantitative Alliance, UK Inquire, the Q-Group, and the Wharton School Terker Family Prize in Investment Research. She is currently an associate editor at the Journal of Finance and Review of Financial Studies.

       Professor Jiang is a five-time recipient of teaching excellence awards at Columbia Business School since 2005.  Most recently she was voted by the Class of 2013 MBA students to receive the Singhvi Prize for Scholarship, awarded to a full-time faculty member for his/her dedication to teaching and the ability to communicate knowledge.