The XYZ Lab at Columbia University

solar energy conversion, exciton dynamics, ultrafast spectroscopy, interfaces

Group members | Publications

Research highlights

A main research thrust in the XYZ lab is to establish new photophysical mechanisms that may be utilized to revolutionize solar energy conversion. As examples, recent discoveries in our lab showed how an electron and a hole is bound by the Coulomb potential across an organic semiconductor interface, how one can extract hot electrons from a photoexcited quantum dot, and how an exciton can split into two via the singlet fission process. Another small thrust in the group is to understand fundamental physical principles underlying bio-interfacial interactions, such as protein-glycan interaction on the surface of cell membranes.

2PPE Observing the Multi-Exciton State in Singlet Fission and Ensuing Ultrafast Multi-Electron Transfer

Science 334, 1541
(2011) .

The energy barrier in singlet fission can be overcome through coherent coupling and entropic gain

Nature Chem. 4, 840 (2012).
hot charge transfer excitons

Hot charge transfer excitons set the time limit for charge separation at donor/acceptor interfaces in organic photovoltaics.

Nature Mater. 12, 66

XYZ Lab News

1/1/2013: Congratulations to Dr. Wai-lun Chan who has joined the University of Kansas as an Assistant Professor of Physics.

2/22/2013: Congratulations to Dr. Manuel Marks who was awarded the Feodor Lynen fellowship by the Humboldt Foundation.

4/12/2013: Congratulations to Dr. John Tritsch who successfully defended his PhD thesis. John is joining Intel to develop future semiconductor technologies.

4/25/2013: Congratulations to Dr. Josh Morris who successfully defended his PhD thesis.

10/31/2013: Congratulations to Dr. Martin Gustafsson who was awarded a prestigious postdoctoral fellowship by the Wenner-Gren Foundation in Sweden.

12/20/2013: Congratulations to Dr. Lei Shen who will join Huazhong University of Science & Technology in China as an Assosciate Professor of Chemistry.

1/23/2014: Congratulations to Dr. Loren Kaake who will join Simon Fraser University in Canada as an Assistant Professor of Chemistry.

3/28/2014: Congratulations to Dr. Josh Morris. who will join Georgia Gwinnett College as an assistant Professor of Chemistry.

4/01/2014: Welcome a new group member, Francois de Kerret, who comes to us as an exchange student from Ecole Polytechnique in Paris, France

4/15/2014: Congratulations to Dr. Wesker Lei who successfully defended his PhD thesis.